The Best Way To Eat and Benefit From The Nutrients of Your Summer Berries

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Did it rain berries in your place? It did in my veggie garden! The heavens have blessed me an abundance of berries.

Well.. except for this .. I only had a few but they're damn delicious that we just pluck and eat right away though we often were in the garden after 6 pm. It's not a very good idea to eat any fruit after a meal my granny taught us so but one or two of them won't hurt would it? We only had a few of them and some are still pretty green there now and the blackbirds must have shared them with us, too.
When the currants were just flowering I wasn't sure they'd successfully fruit but look at my last harvest.

Just for that night of harvest - two full Lock and Lock boxes of them damn berries. I've even given my Pinay friends a few cause it'll all just be wasted having seen a lot fallen on the ground just starting to grow molds, too.

4.jpg

The gooseberries are my favorites and I just ate them before our morning smoothie. My hubby however, took them on his muesli grains with plain yogurt, cardamom and cinnamon powder.

I had too many redcurrants so I've decided to add them in the morning smoothie and made a lot of them smoothie everyday but here's a few to share.

What's the best way to eat and benefit from all the nutrients your summer berries have you asked? Aside from right after picking them, sugarless and plain 'ya asked ? In my humble opinion ...

12.jpg

How about you?

I took each pic with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 and each recipe in this post is a product of spontaneous thinking of what to serve for a quick breakfast based on what's in the fridge and the fruit basket.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



fllwme.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful and informative post! Now I wish I had a garden of berries!!! 💕💕💕

thank you
I wish to wish that berry wish you wished up there
and that it may come true :)

Upvoted and Resteemed by the xx_Votes_Plus curation trail! Want more earnings? Follow @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396 and/or delegate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead! Keep up the good work!

I love berries, they are good antioxidants that helps improve human health...

you're so lucky :) love berries

I am a berry fanatic. Great timely info, thanks so much!!

me two, me three :)

Mother Nature provides us with everything we need what a beautiful pictures😃

indeed
thank you

Oh this reminds me of so much of my childhood and home country. Ah, Ireally wanna go home now to my grandma's and eat things like these.

haha .. we didn't have these kinds of berries in my granny's house
we had Asian berries
which I miss

Ok, let's have a deal. You go to my grandma's place, I go to yours. And we both get to experience something new :).

no deal :)
granny's RIPed a long time ago - its my aunt's place now
probably looking different these days
still lots of fruits and greens to eat - that for sure

Interesting post@englishtchrivy never thought about that in that way.

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

What luscious photographs and informative commentary.

Appreciate this lively...lovely....colourful post.

Wishing you all the best. Abientotlater.

Thank you for the gift...mon ami.

oh .. thank you
typo
thank you for reading it
always my pleasure Mon ami

I hope you're doing great out there
TC!
will edit indeed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62996.86
ETH 3452.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49