STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE # 30: Cute mini pumpkin tartsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Hi steemians,

It s the tart week! I was so excited about the tart challenge and could not choose which one shall i bake... sweet or savoury ?

So my girls decided for me, cute little pumpkin tart for lunch box.... hmm....
Note: I have reduced the sugar in this recipe and find it works well, you may use standard one for the better results.

P6130039_副本.jpg

oh no... forgot to take out the tart...haha..so here is how the crusts look like

P6130040_副本.jpg

here is my recipe

Ingredients for crusts

60 g butter
150g all purpose flour
15g sugar(would be nicer if you use 45g, but i want less sugar intake for kids)
50g egg
5-10ml milk

P6130002_副本.jpg

ingredients for pumpkin filling

130g pumpkin peeled, cut into chunks
15g caster sugar
50g egg(one size 7 egg)
65ml milk
1tsp corn flour
few chocolate buttons for decoration

P6130009.JPG

Method

for the crusts, mix all ingredients together, when you can not find any excess ingredients on the side of bowl, stop! do not over knead the dough, it might reduce the crust layers.

P6130005.JPG

Cover with plastic warp and refrigerate for at least half hour
P6130007.JPG

now making the pumpkin filling

add little water to pumpkin and microwave or steam it for 3-5 minutes.

P6130011.JPG

drain the pumpkin and put with all other ingredients together inside blender to make pumpkin puree

P6130013.JPG

Pour the pumpkin puree through a strainer
P6130018_副本.jpg

now take out the crust dough, roll it into 10 small balls and flatten it out to a circle

P6130031.JPG

put circles in to tart molds, use fork to punch some holes for crunchier tart

P6130028.JPG

fill in the pumpkin puree
P6130033.JPG

heat oven to 350 degrees F fan bake option, bake for 15-20 minites..
P6130035.JPG

Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly, use the chocolate button to decorate the mini tarts...
P6130041_副本.jpg

P6130042_副本.jpg

kids could not wait until tomorrow...

P6130047_副本.jpg
P6130049_副本.jpg

happy kids and happy tarts
P6130038_副本.jpg

Big thanks @biglipsmama for choosing tart as this week s challenge, kids are so happy about the cute tarts. I would be too lazy to make otherwise...

And thank you to the challenge host @woman-onthe-wing and sponsors @smooth , @sirwinchester. The challenge made me to cook more things and create more my own recipes...

And also thank you to everyone who viewing this post... please upvote if you like it...

Steem on everyone!

Sort:  

They look so cute!! Pumpkin filling must be a tasty addition. Good luck with the challenge!!

Thank you @knittybynature, it s nice to make foods kid like,so I don't need to eat all of them^_^. Loved the berry tarts you made too!

Haha I know what you mean.Sharing with family is the best! I am always amazed how quickly food cooked for hours can disappear and how much happier everyone become after eating it :) And thank you for praising my tart!

That s exactly what I meant. ^_^

Oooh @emilymichelle I LOVE these little tarts, they're super cute! And so are your children! I like that you reduced the sugar, it's much healthier for them this way :-) Pumpkin is a fantastic vegetable, sweet and smooth and brightly coloured, perfect for tarts. I adore how you made the little faces on them! Good luck!

Thank you @ woman-onthe-wing, indeed pumpkin is great for all kind of dishes...nature sweet is much better than sugar ^-^. I always try to reduce butter and suger intake and kids now think store sold one is too sweet...hahahaa

I agree with you @emilymichelle... I don't give my son sugar to eat either, or anything containing artificial ingredients. The health of our children is the most important thing! You are right when you say nature sweet is best :-)

well done @emilymichelle ! they look very tasty !! good luck with the challenge

Thank you @rouketas, I just checked out your amazing fruit tart, looks delicious !

Congratulations @emilymichelle on winning 4th prize! Your pumpkin tarts look so tasty and fun, and I'm so happy you won a prize for them! I hope to see more of your recipes whenever you get time to join in... and I bet your children will be happy to eat more of your tasty treats too haha!

Thank you very much @woman-onthe-wing, I am so overwhelmed about the result..I was just happy to participate ! It s a big encouragement for me to keep on cooking and participate. ^_^

Look yummy and very cute tart!

Thank you @tangmo for your kind comments!

With my pleasure! ;)

Another awesome creation :)

Thank you @ kotturinn. ^_^

Thank you very much @snooway, it a indeed yummy

lovely tarts and lovely girls! good luck in the challenge.

Thank you @helene for your kind comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60147.86
ETH 2985.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83