Vegan Potato Bomb

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I'm one of those people that scours social media for foodie ideas. 


The other day I saw this recipe for a thing called a "potato bomb"...

So I made it vegan.




This entails making the vegan "ground beef" crumbles that I outlined in the lettuce wraps post.

https://steemit.com/recipe/@ellemarieisme/vegan-lettuce-wraps


Alternatively, this potato can be filled with any mixture of your choice. I'd recommend playing with it, and I do intend to experiment with other fillings, too.



Recipe


Ingredients

  • vegan meat crumble (link to recipe above)
  • 1 potato, peeled and grated
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbs ground flax mixed with 2 tbs water, mixed and allowed a few minutes to thicken and set)
  • 1/8 tsp ground Himalayan salt
  • your choice of spices


Directions

      Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. To build the bomb, mix the grated potato with your choice of spices, salt, and flax egg. Line a bowl with plastic wrap and coat the bottom and sides with an even layer of the potato mixture, then fill with the vegan meat crumbles. Take the plastic wrap and use it to close the top and bring the potato edges together, sealing the bomb, then twist the plastic and allow the bomb to chill in the freezer for 30 minutes. Bring it out, set it on a lined baking sheet, and bake for 40 minutes. Top it with something saucy and throw some greens on the plate. The original recipe calls for cheese to be included inside the bomb, so I replaced it with cashew cream "cheese" on top. 

Sort:  

I would eat like 10 of tho'es and be so full of organic goodness. I could have a serious gaming session and be full, and my body would be firing on all cylinders thanks to the nutrients. And then when someone asked how I had the edge when I was #1 in Fortnite I would say its because I ate "The Bomb". I would make sure and tell everyone in the lobby that they just got beat by a vegan...haha they would be pissed. This looks like easy to make also, great post!!

Omg you are hilarious!!! So witty! Thank you, and yes it is really easy to make. You just have to make sure you start prepping it early because the necessary chill time of 30 minutes really extends the time it takes to sit down to eat.

I made that mistake of waiting until I was already hungry to start making it and by the time it was done I was hangry as hell.

Cons: It takes a long time to make.
Pros: It's easy to make. It's worth the wait.

Looks so tasty, how long will it take to make it?

Good question! I forgot to mention that part.

So here's the thing: if you have all the necessary tools (mainly the grater), then you'll get that potato grated in no time and your expected prep time should be about 10 minutes, plus the 30 minutes of chilling time, and finally 40 minutes of baking.

So in total, the prep time is about 1 hour and 20 minutes.

I don't have a proper grater, however, because I just keep forgetting to buy one. All I have is a tiny cheese grater so it took me like 20 minutes to grate the freaking potato. Don't be like me. Buy the biggest damn grater you can find. Haha!

Nice thanks its my first day here :) i will try it, i became hungry seeing this amazing picture

Welcome to steemit! You should make a post about it when you make it and tag me so I can see!!! My best advice is to get a photo using a very good camera and great lighting. If that means you have to take your plate outside in the sun to get that photo, it's gonna be so worth it. Steemians really appreciate a good, clean, crisp visual. Enjoy Steemit!

Okay thank you for this information i will folow you :)
can you give me a feedback on my first post?

Thank you! And yes, absolutely. Follow for follow.

Ok great i follow you :) Nice content in your blog. Live your dreams !

just had my dinner then came here to find this....now i'm hungry again.
:P
definetely gonna try it.

Haha! Yes! It's definitely a "must-have".

did my own noodles today yummy

Oh! I went to your page hoping to find a post about those noodles but there doesn't seem to be any content on there yet. Pix or it didn't happen! ^_^ Welcome to steemit, I'd LOVE to see your foodie creations! Can't wait for your first post.

I'm here since 2 hours. Will start to post my own stuff tommorow :)

Oh wow! Cool! So I got to welcome you first! Yay ^_^

thanks :) we have some same interests.. preparing food and cryptos :P

Do you follow @gringalicious? Her food posts with ingredients are too cool for school. Meaning check her out, you will love it, lol! 😂

Thanks! Her food looks amazing, but I can't eat any of it. I can't digest gluten, and I'm trying to become vegan, as well.

This looks awesome! I wish I could cook like that or had someone who could cook vegan food for me.

Cooking is just like anything else: it takes a lot of time and dedication to practice. I'm sure you could do it, if you had the time! I tend to make the same recipe over and over, changing little things here and there about how I prepare the food. Eventually you'll recognize the physics of it, because it's all very scientific.
So, you'll realize things that help you out a lot, like if you cook something in the oven, and it comes out looking perfect on the outside, but the inside is still too under-cooked, you would know that the temperature on your oven was too high, and the cooking time too short. To adjust, you could try it again at a lower temperature for extra time.

It's definitely challenging given that every oven and stove top tends to differ, which has an effect on how your pancakes come out, for example. Pancakes are the worst, I still can't get the damn things right. Haha

wow that looks professional , did you make an education in this branche ?

Thanks very much!

No, I didn't study cooking in school or anything, but I've had a lot of close friends who have studied to become successful chefs so I learned a lot from them. I also took a home economics class when I was in high school where I learned how to write a professional recipe.

Thank you for asking!

Seems like you are a really smart girl , what kind of job you will go on when you finished shool ? and may i ask you how did you get to crypto ? :D in my opinon the blockahin community needs more smart girls like you , we need to grow again but without these fast lambo to moon noobs and so on :D

Thank you for asking!

I'm smart enough to have dropped out of college. I spent eight years struggling to get through college after I graduated high school and I finally accepted the fact that college is not right for everyone. It is not a universal learning environment, and although I graduated high school with a 3.7 GPA and all honors and college-level courses, I could not pass my courses in the University. I switched Universities, too, and studied in total at three different ones. Still, I could not pass my courses with the same ease that I experienced as I flew through grade school.

While I struggling with college for eight years, I was working at Starbucks. When I started working with Omar on our YouTube channel and the Crypt0 brand, I finally left Starbucks. As far as what kind of work I want to do in the future, I can't honestly say that I have a solid target in mind. Instead, I'm flowing where life has been taking me.

I got into crypto at the same time that Omar did, in 2016. I didn't invest right away because I was working at Starbucks and I didn't have anything to invest with. In 2017 I got took my tax return $$ and put that into crypto.

I made many mistakes in the past , instead of study i made an education at Aldi Süd , a global player but most present in Germany. They do not treat me as a human i feel like a roboter , hate my job but still i am so stupid to go there day by day ... I have tried everything to get out of that cycle but still can t break out . Last year in March 2017 i heared the first time about a cryptocurrency called Bitcoin ... first i was skeptical so i didn t invest money ... then I had an eye on the price , i was surprised it growth so fast ... but at this point i din t unerstand anything , i just saw the money .... so in September 2017 i bought my first ETH , because bitcoin was so expensive at this time and all my friends were in ICO buiss ... so i invested also in icos , didn t knew any technical background about the different token / coins ... then i heared about blockchain and the idea about decentralization , i was really fascinated so i start to inform me more and more , and quite fast i understood blockchain technology i so much more than only currency ... the possibilities are near to endless :) I started with 17 real life friends who had all cryptos ... but since the market is dropping they paid out in fiat money , so only 2 of them are left ... but even if there will be another "crypto ice time" we will be there because we believe in the technology and the ideology behind it. Do you live in the US ? heared there are lot of regulations and the people are very restricted in how they can act ? Do you sometimes think back at the starbucks time ? fore sure you have a smile on your face when you do so ? :D Hope my time will also come :) and as i already said , we need more smart people like you in the crypto community , so lets fight the forces of evil , in blockchain and cryptocurrencys we trust !

best wishes to you from germany :)

Love the food. Love potatoes. Thanks for sharing. I'm Oatmeal. Happy Easter 2018.

Yummy Potato Bomb. Thanks for sharing. I'm Oatmeal. Happy Easter 2018.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59