You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's time to go vegan. Search your feelings, you KNOW it to be true!

in #food6 years ago

Yeah we really need to cut down on our meat consumption. However, this really is a numbers game. Getting 100 people to cut consumption by half is better than getting 10 to go vegan. It's a slow process.

Sort:  

Harm reduction! Sounds good to me.
Another good way to reduce the harm we're doing (to the other animals and to ourselves and the ecosystem) is to move away from factory farmed dairy and meat as much as possible. It's not ultimately where we need to be, but it's something attainable within a few years, and it would have a massive impact. Another way to reduce harm is to cut back on red meat (ie: mammals) in favour of fish and poultry. Sorry, birds, but you're not as conscious and sentient as mammals! Fish was the last flesh for me to cut out. I rarely (once a year or so) still eat the odd shrimp, which I consider to be 'the mosquito of the sea' (a brainless piece of protein), but I know it's not nutritionally necessary, and probably not a sustainable practice. I only mention it to show my belief in harm reduction, as opposed to hard-line thinking based in emotions. It's about ideally doing no (less) harm, for me - not an idealistic virtuous hypothetical state. Kind of an extension of my libertarian/anarchistic belief system.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66