Kombucha

in #food7 years ago (edited)

If it is one thing that I might miss most about Vallejo, California, is the best home brewed Kombucha I ever tasted. I recently found out that this cafe is closed for business, but I know the man behind the magic. His family has a special touch and I can surely tell you, this is the best Kombucha I have ever had in my life. I will share some of his Kombucha process with you in this post. Enjoy!

Ingredients

1 Cup Organic Cane Sugar
4 Liters Purified Water
4 to 6 teabags or teaspoons of loose tea (either green or black) tied in cheesecloth

Instructions

  • Put filtered water into stainless steel pot, add the sugar, stir and bring to a boil for three minutes.

  • Add the tea and boil for a further two or three minutes.

  • Turn off burner and allow tea to steep for 10 to 15 minutes.

  • Remove tea.

  • Let the tea cool so it’s warm to the touch.

  • Pour steeped tea into a glass jar.

  • Add Kombucha culture and mother tea (starter tea provided with culture) to the brewed tea.

Reminder: Do not put Kombucha culture into tea that is hot, it may damage the culture.

  • Use cotton cloth to cover the top of glass jar and seal with tape.

  • Place the glass jar in a place that it will not be touched, with a degree temperature of 73 to 82 degrees Farenheit. Do not move it!

The process should take approximately 20 to 30 days or dependent upon your taste. You are now ready to harvest your new mushroom and refrigerate your fermented beverage.

  • Remove the cotton cloth from the glass jar. You will notice that you now have the original culture and a small one on top. These can be separated, and the newly formed culture can be stored in a glass jar with approximately 12 to 24 ounces of brewed tea. Keep this in the refrigerator.

  • Pour your newly fermented Kombucha tea from your vessel into a glass container, and place your freshly brewed tea in the refrigerator.

The mother culture will continue to sprout babies while in the jar; you only have to remove the accumulation of cultures when it is taking up too much space in the jar.


Sort:  

I'm curious on how the taste is since there's cheese in it. ^^

Hi @dawnsheree no there is no cheese, its like carbonated flavored but not bad for you. Not filled with sugar and when it is made right it is all natural and so good for you. Probiotic. xx

Ah, I see. Another learning for me every single day! Thanks Cass!

LOL! Every day? That is so cute and funny. Hope you are having a blessed day!

Yes of course, every single day. I've learned about the ghost town, the firey flower lol.

Yay, there is so much to learn on STEEMIT. Some days I can't believe I have been on here for 9 weeks straight. G Help me! LOL
I need to take a look at one of your recent posts. I have so many comments to reply to, write, and upvote ... xx

I love Kombucha!!! And it’s so good for you. Here in South Florida there’s a place where they make their own konbucha with ingredients from their farm, so yummy!

Me too @naturald, yes it is very good for us. Sounds amazing!!! Yay!! xx

Good post! I did a 3 part kombucha series that you might be interested in checking out :)

Thank you very much. I will check it out @johnpetrich! xx

Amazing pictures Love this post and Wonderful photography .Travel very nice..I appreciate photography.thanks

Thank you @ovyhossain, I appreciate you stopping by and giving my post some love and your comment. xx

wellcome and upvot me

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 08:33:42
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 272.31/400.00
Total Photos: 35
Total comments: 38
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thanks...I needed a good kombucha recipe. #resteemed

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84