ohhhhhhhhh another kitchen tip! Gadget love!!!

in #food6 years ago

Do you really need that in your kitchen drawer??


This is ONE of the biggest questions I ask myself when I'm perusing the aisles of Bed, Bath & Beyond! They have SOOOOOO many awesome gadgets.... but will I really use them? I make it a point to NEVER buy it on first sight (ok... ok... I usually break this rule at least 25% of the time. I usually regret it. But I digress!)


After I've been at home and cursed myself... chopping something for WAY too long and thinking... "why... WHY did I not get that gadget???" - I put it on my list!

and then I forget that list 10 more times when I'm in the store. or... I remember the list - and forget the coupon


ANYWAYYYYYYYY

(or "Amyloid" - if you're me or Witty @enginewitty) tee hee hee


THIS ONE!!! GET THIS GADGET!

It's a julienne peeler, and it works amaaaaaaazingly! Look Look!


Are you wondering how it juliennes? Cool - I did too! Flip that little baby over and see for yourself! ahhhhh the teeth! It's cutting two ways at once. Once deep, once across.... simple concept that saves my fingers, my patience... and let's be honest -saves my family from my mood after chopping little slivers of vegetables for 75 minutes!!!!



As for food photography - you can have the best of intentions but..... This is what happens when you're ready to post, and you realize your camera hates you. Honestly - it looked PERFECT on the stupid screen! And then it was all - "nahhhh I think blurry is a better option." Must. Stage. Again. GRRRRR! (thank God I had one more Daikon radish!)



SIDE NOTE: If you already have an attachment on your Cuisinart or fancy shmancy thing.... and you're not CURRENTLY slaving away for hours trying to get pretty little julienned veggies....

IGNORE this post. just walk away. lol do not buy another gadget if you have no need!

Honestly - fight the urge. it will only leave you in pain in misery to force shut that gadget drawer!!!


Hope that helps!!! Enjoy your julienninggggggg!

Sort:  

Remember the Alton Brown Rule:
Never buy something for the kitchen that only has one use: EXCEPT for the fire extinguisher!

OK, Ok, we'll let this one pass: It saves my fingers, my patience... and let's be honest -saves my family

yeah... "saves my family" is important LOL

i love Alton Brown! but i think this will be the one time i don't listen to him hehehe

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 235 (8/23/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

oh thank you !!!! :) love being on that lovely train hehehe

Oh! I just saw this nifty tool the other day and I was wondering does it really work?

Now I can see your testimony on how good the little tool is I would definitely make an effort to visit the shop and get one now!

upvoted

hehehehe yes definitely get it! :) it works great! (just be careful of your fingers hehehe)

Haaa!! This was such a fun and funny post! You had me laughing and I appreciate that.

Okay I’m liking what I’m seeing. I do have an ordinary peeler but wow this one is genius!! 😃😍

Thanks for the heads up!

it really is genius!!!!!!!!!!! it makes julienning SO fast!!!! and even!!! :)

glad that I got you giggling hehehe

😁😁😁

Thanks for this funny post! I giggled while I was reading.

hahahahaha i'm so glad that you were able to giggle ;) i love spreading a bit of knowledge with fun! :)

Aren't they great! I've got a fancy mandolin too, for the bigger jobs. But most of the time, I just use the wee julienne peeler.

yes!!!! they're perfect!!!! just in/out - no heavy, clunky machinery! and easy to clean :)

sometimes the little tools are best! hehehe

My husband is so much the same with kitchen gadgets .... :) all this tupper stuff ... I am always wondering for what he needs all this stuff ... then he always says: "enjoy your wonderful dinner :)" ...

maybe I am his best kitchen gadget .... lol ... I love to cut vegetables and help with the cleaning of the plates ...

hahahahahahaha!!!!! yes!!!! "enjoy your wonderful dinner" meaning.. shhhhhhhhhh no more talking about all my lovely gadgets LOLOLOL

and if you cut vegetables and clean plates???? YOU ARE INVITED TO DINNER, SIR! :)

YEAHHHH, I will come to your dinner :)
Yes, cutting vegetables and cleaning plates is so meditative ... sometimes I love to do things I don't have to think a lot while doing .... this stops me from getting an overdose from my thoughts ... lol

I'm the same way with driving! I LOVE to think (and maybe even talk out loud to myself 😮 🤣) when I drive!!!! LOL

It's like I can't do anything else - so... I don't have to feel guilty about letting myself just have as many thoughts as I want! fantasy... writing ideas... song ideas... conversations that i need to have with people. hahahahahahaha

whatever! just drive and let my mind wander :)

oh my goodness! Is it just called a julienne peeler??? This looks wonderful, you are so right....the chopping, and slicing your hands...lol I love it, and your wonderful sense of humor:)

hehehehehe thanks! :) i'm happy that enjoyed it! it was a fun post to write for sure!

(but be careful - you can still slice your hands with this one too! hehehehe)

Oh I want now, I bought on ebay one to make pumpkin noodles but it doesn't work properly :/

ohhhhhhhhhh this will!!!! it's so easy!!!! :)

just slide it right over and yayyyyyyyyyy :) (just watch your fingers - it's sharp! hehee)

You are fun! Love your small things....

hehehehehe just little tips for fun ;)

Precisely, love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59