Fastest way to peel a bulb of garlic!

in #food6 years ago

Attention Garlic Lovers!


Garlic is not only super tasty... but the health benefits are out of this world! Sauteed, fried, simmered in sauces, stir-fried, raw... you name it - this little pearl of goodness is one powerfully tasty bite!


But, what's one of the biggest drawbacks of cooking with garlic?

Peeling them!


Those paper thin wrappings clinging to each little bulb makes for a time-consuming removal process. I've had the garlic presses that mince and unwrap that cloves in one step! They're great!! But what if I don't want minced garlic? What if I'm making my 40 cloves of garlic chicken? (mmmmmm it is SO good!) Or what if I'm making a dish that requires sliced garlic, simmering up nice and thin in a broth? I've also used the little rubber mats where you can roll the paper off. They're also great! BUT if you want to peel an ENTIRE BULB (two or three, even) all at once...


I'VE GOT THE TRICK FOR YOU!


First take a nice tight bulb, and smash it into separate cloves with the heel of your hand. (if you do this at an angle, they break apart really nicely and easily!)



Next - you're going to put all the cloves right into a container with a lid. I happened to have a nice-sized Tupperware, but I used to have a plastic bread container that worked perfectly. (lost it in the move, ugh!) It's ideal that you have a lot of air for the cloves to move around and bounce off of one another. Then.... SHAKE! It will be loud - so be prepared! Shake for about one minute. (it's a great arm workout too! hehehe)



Take a peek - and you'll be so surprised! They're PEELED! In just about one minute's time - you have peeled garlic cloves and not an OUNCE of hard labor! hehehe Now, you might get the occasional stubborn clove. You can either shake some more - or just peel it by hand. Today, I was in a hurry to get pictures for you, so I just peeled the stubborn ones. (and now my fingers DO smell like garlic - but don't worry, I have a tip for you tomorrow!!!)



Nope - you don't have to put your hands in that mess! Just run the water over the cloves - and the papers float to the top like magic! I skim them off and put them into the sink to collect..... just like this!



Look at that! All those cloves - ready to put into your favorite dish! (My personal favorite is that 40 cloves of garlic chicken dish.... I'm definitely gonna have to do that soon! Each clove turns out soft and buttery and delish!) As far as your kissing breath.... AFTER eating 40 cloves of garlic? hmmmmm sorry! You can TRY parsley... but 40 cloves might mean no kissing for at least one night! :)



HOPE THAT HELPS!! Enjoy that garlic :)

Sort:  

the actual best way to peel garlic is to have people peel it for you!
do you have people?

hahahahaha i do have people! but they are lazy people. and they have become immune to the crack of the whip.

so...i must shake the garlic in the Tupperware LOLOL

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 235 (8/23/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

The trick to eating garlic and being able to kiss your hubby after is for both of you to eat the garlic. Then you don't notice! LOL Very cool way to peel garlic! One can never have enough garlic!

hehehehee very true! but then the next morning... aye yi yi.... leave the windows open or the morning breath will suffocate everyone hehehehehehe

i agree - garlic garlic and more garlic :)

Cool trick. I might use it if I ever get around to actually learning how to cook more than grilled cheese and frozen pizza, lol. It's a really useful life skill, but that usefulness initiates reverse psychology and I learn less useful stuff, like how to juggle. XD

this just made me bust up laughing!!!!!!!!!! LOLOLOL

well.... maybe this will be the start of you learning how to good that 40 cloves of garlic chicken! LOL

(just don't kiss anyone for at least a day. you'll knock them over) hehehehe

and juggling??? don't ever put learning to juggle aside. do this NOW! LOL

What a great tip/trick if one needs a lot of peeled garlic. Thanks for that tidbit.

I like it - even when its like 4-5 cloves - i just prefer that my fingers don't smell like it heheheheh

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-21T01:18:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 68.65/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 21
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This is awesome! My wife and I use garlic and onions in pretty much everything that we cook. I am pretty sure that the smell oozes out of my pores because of that. Not only does it taste great, but like you said, it has so many health benefits. I am really interested in trying to grow some of my own garlic at some point. Thanks for sharing!

Oh my goodness!!! It's the best trick ever!!!

And growing garlic is SO easy!!!! You literally just leave some on the bulb... Wait for it to sprout a shoot and then transfer to the dirt!!!!

So many plants are like this!!! I actually have a post for some this week! Hehehe

It's like a little self-renewing garden..just purchase once and dont throw away!! Lol

Okay, I am going to have to give this a look. I know that a lot of people say it is good to get it in the ground before the ground freezes for the winter. Maybe after my tomatoes are done in my garden I will throw a clove in a bucket.

Yeah! I'll look for a little video on how to do it! It's so cool :)
You could even start it in the house. :)

If you do .. tag me in your attempt hehehehe
Love sharing the tips... If you have some tips along the way... Share! Hehehe

I used the same technique, putting the garlics in a plastic container and shake them really hard. The container broke. LOL😂

Hahahahahaa I should have said...make sure to use a strong container lolololl

I only put inn2-3 bulbs... Maximum at a time... But it works SO well for me!!!! So fast! I hated peeling them all by hand! Hahahha

Garlic never let you to kiss, if you have one or 40...hope you get some trick to get the smell out😉 too...

Anyway, i always fought such war with garlic, now hopefully i give them coolbath rather than peeling their skin out...👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Well first make sure you shake shake shake it in a container!!! That's what makes the skins come off! Then thewater just rinses the skins away! Hehehe make sure you shake it in a large container and HOLD the top on very well when you're shaking hahahahah

40 cloves of garlic chicken! That's a pretty specific recipe, LOL!! Oh, but I agree, garlic is one of the best in terms of ramping up flavour! :)

I have tried this using a glass jar, I found a few stubborn ones, will have to try it in a tupperware. See if the depth makes a difference.

I have found that the bigger the container... The better the results! I think it just had more room to hit other garlic and make maximum impact when hitting the sides. Hehehe my Tupperware was not ideal... But it mostly did the trick! Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85