We Meat Again

in #food6 years ago (edited)

72f60ffe-af3e-4633-870f-056cf0367651.jpeg


Visiting the state fair I was stuck by how much of the food on the sticks was meat. I eat too much meat myself. Always have. Gluten and dairy intolerance since birth have led me down a meaty path. I worry about the karmic implications, my heart, my gut, our world. And still I carry right along. But how long will our society be able to keep up this sharade. It costs WAY too much to feed the cattle to feed the humans in terms of fiat, methane and land.

2D8B498B-497C-4E68-A000-DBF99F486B15.jpeg

We could grow ourselves back to health. But so far no dice.

Do you eat meat?

AF9BE5C1-00F6-46BF-B865-336378BF6B97.jpeg

Tag me in a veggie recipe you like for a full upvote. Let’s cut back together.

How else could we tokenize vegetarianism or innovate towards cutting back? Tempeh Coin?

Yours in the Flesh,
Doug

source


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I eat a lot of meat, @dougakarr, it's my guilty pleasure!! Although I'm eating less meat now than I used to. I don't know if it's because of the problems in my country (Venezuela) or because I have a conscience like you. There are delicious bean croquettes dressed with lots of spices that can taste like succulent meatballs. The secret is in the spices you add to the pasta you've made with the beans! Pepper, salt, garlic and cumin! A delicacy.

Yum, sounds amazing!

Oh, yes, my friend, I also consume meat and never give up an extra piece, probably I'm so arranged, haha. But I also use all kinds of fruits and vegetables normally, so to speak for balance! Thank you @dougkarr

Why are you putting yourself down for eating meat? Who says how much is too much meat? What your body needs is what your body needs. I am astonished how many people commenting on this post are beating themselves up about it.

If I was going to beat myself up, it would be about eating toxic crap that isn't meat - like gluten, soy, sugar, or vegetable oils...

For me it’s because there are larger implications... for humans, the animals and the world associated with excess meat consumption.

Some of the larger implications include ones that are not obvious.
For humans - We all have different needs. What is excess meat consumption for my other half, for example, is inadequate meat consumption for me.
For animals - of course we should choose meat that has been humanely raised, which includes feeding them grass, not grains.
For the world - more damage is done by big mono-crop agriculture than has ever been done by raising animals on pasture.

Nobody has the right to tell you that your meat consumption is excessive. There is a lot of politically correct bullshit around, with the sole purpose of making you feel guilty. Don't do that to yourself, is my point.

I eat way too much meat, and I'm really ashamed about it. I have gone vegetarian twice in my life, and even gave veganism a stab, but I'm too poor to make it happen. It's really unfortunate that the most available foods are some of the most economically and ethically toxic. Even on top of that, I would find during my attempts at vegetarianism, is that it is nearly impossible to do on the road unless you have a pretty good financial cushion.

I always keep trying, though. And I'm not a very organized person, nor have anything close to a routine. Therefore, every day brings on new recipes from the cook book of whatever the hell I can find to eat. Once in awhile they turn out really good. Next time that happens, I'll be sure to tag you

I love meat alot and I also eat different varieties of meat and it is my family tradition to always have meal in our meal, but due to some health effect of eating excess meat I now eat more of white meat like chicken and turkey meat that contains lesser fat and calories

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

As I see it, yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

McConnell:Yep, looks ok to me. Oh wait we're missing something.
Ellison: what's that?
McConnell: we need a big ole nuclear plant right there, on the mississippi. Mmm yeah.

🤣😂 legislator, who the hell is advising them?

I can never get tired of eating meat.

To falafel or not to falafel? That is the question.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83