Turmeric Golden Paste ... recipe and how to make your own (my own original photos)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Mmmmmmm that looks like one delicious cup of turmeric tea

Turmeric has been in the news in the UK recently as great cure for many ailments. (I will give you a link to read all about that at the end of my post if you would like to rather than repeat it all here.)

I first came across Turmeric Golden Paste as a remedy for my dog's digestion ... obviously it soon became clear that it would aid human digestion too and I started making Golden Paste about 2 years ago. Seeing turmeric in the news has prompted me to share what I make with other lovely Steemians. You can buy this product ready made but it is so easy to do and nice to have fresh with no additives to preserve it.

Ingredients

60 grams ground turmeric powder (organic if possible)

70 ml Raw cold pressed coconut oil or good virgin olive oil

2 -3 teaspoons of ground black pepper (to your own taste)

250 ml water

Start with a bag of ground turmeric (I like to use organic but you can use either). I buy a kilogram but you only need 60 grams for one 1lb jar.

Put the ground turmeric in a large saucepan with 250 ml water. You can add a little more if it gets too thick. The turmeric cooks like flour and goes thick and gloopy so splatters a bit, hence the big saucepan. Put the extractor on as the smell is strong.  I make double the recipe and give jars to friends, especially if they have a cold or similar.

When cooked and thick, remove from the heat and allow to cool a little. Then add 70 ml good quality coconut or olive oil. I prefer coconut as the taste of olive oil can be strong. Also add 2 - 3 teaspoons of ground black pepper.  The coconut oil melts in the warm turmeric paste, whisk it all together. 

Stir, whisk, stir

Stir stir stir

Mmmmm delicious glossy golden paste


Fill a selection of nice jars, I like a few small ones to share.

Put the lids on as soon as possible so the lids pop down. This will keep your paste fresh until you open it. Golden Paste MUST be stored in the fridge and used within 3-4 weeks. Use it and make a fresh batch before it goes mouldy, 60 grams of turmeric recipe lasts me about 2-3 weeks.

Use your turmeric covered pan to make yummy warming soup or stew (waste not want not)

Use your pastey spoon to make yourself a cuppa

SIT DOWN AND ENJOY A DELICOUS CUP OF GOLDEN TEA FEELING PLEASED WITH YOURSELF ... as seen at the start!

Finally, take a jar round to a friend and share the love X

see lots more about the benefits of Turmeric here https://authoritynutrition.com/top-10-evidence-based-health-benefits-of-turmeric/

This is where I got the recipe - http://turmericlife.com.au/turmeric-for-humans/ 

ONE WORD OF CAUTION, AVOID ALL CONTACT WITH CLOTHES, DELICATE WORK SURFACES ETC AS TURMERIC STAINS EVERYTHING YELLOW!



 Thanks for the badges  @elyaque

https://steemit.com/steemit/@elyaque/free-steemit-badges-for-everyone 

Sort:  

I have heard a few good things about Turmeric lately :)

Thank you for posting @dodders007. Upvoted earlier....just wanted to come back round and comment. Appreciate you bringing to Steemit this recipe for wellness....sounds lovely.
All the best. Cheers.

Thanks bleujay. It's a nic hug at bed time drink for me :) steem on

It's very beautiful post and very interesting!
I follow you now :D

Thank you @djsonic, I am also following you now :)

Thank you...Nice to meet you :)

You too, thanks. I'm off to look at your posts now :)

I am going to make this one and see if it helps when my dog has an upset stomach....which happens occasionally. thanks for the great info

Our dogs happily eat it up in their food. Use it regularly to hopefully prevent the upset stomach. Raw green tripe is also good as it gives good gut bacteria to the dogs, they LOVE it! Thanks for your comment :)

Hello brother @dodders007 fantastic meal

How long does the paste last and how do you keep it? Thanks for your article.
I have just recently written about the benefits of turmeric - https://steemit.com/health/@nzfxtrader/the-health-benefits-of-turmeric

its a great and easy recipe, thanks for sharing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78