So what did I make with the ghost peppers?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I received a package on Monday from @papa-pepper. He had sent me ten ghost peppers out of the kindness in his heart. So I made a post the next day asking for suggestions on how I should use these peppers. I recieved a lot of great suggestions and I went with the two that sounded the best to me.


Ghost pepper salt and @papa-pepper s own Green Ghost Salsa with a twist.



clean.png

I chose the ghost pepper salt mainly because it is easy to make. I dehydrated the peppers a bit in the oven. I then blended them up as best as blending five dried peppers in a blender goes. Then you just add some sea salt and shake it up for the next four days. You can add more salt to absorb any pepper moisture in there and let it breathe until it's nice and dry. The salt instantly turned that pink color.

dry peppers.jpgSalt.jpg

clean.png
I love a good salsa verde. There is a taco shop near my house that has one of my favorites. It is nice and hot and it has avocado in it. So that is what I decided to do... Make @papa-pepper s Green Ghost Salsa with avocado.

ingredients.jpg

If I've made something before, then I usually just wing it when making the same dish.I wouldn't say I'm an expert but I've got some salsaperience. I was making a small batch for this recipe, this is how it went.

Recipe:

9 tomatillos.....I got some big ones
1 bunch of cilantro... I love cilantro
3 cloves of garlic
1/2 an onion
1 avocado
1 lime....squeezed
and of course
5 ghost peppers

Blanch the tomatillos for about five minutes until they get a bit soft then throw it all in the blender. Add some vinegar and salt to taste.

blender.jpg

clean.png
final.jpg

It turned out friggin fantastic. Pretty darn hot but still do able. Thank you @papa-pepper for sending those peppers to me. It just goes to show, you never know where steemit will take you. I want to tell all of you.....

Keep being Cool Steemit!


doctorcrypto.gif

EDIT: I took some salsa into work today for a taste test.

20171112_172317.jpg20171112_171741.jpg
Conner thought it was great.Ashley couldn't handle the heat.
20171112_173544.jpg20171112_174320.jpg
Evan ate most of it.Stevie had to contemplate.

20171112_173650.jpg

@rmeeka gave it two thumbs up!

A successful batch no doubt!

Sort:  

Looks absolutely delicious!

Thank you, I'm really pleased with how it turned out. :)

Good idea using avocado, maybe that helps bring down the heat a notch ! The Ghost Pepper Salt will be nice during the winter to add to soups etc. Great post.

I forgot to mention that after I sampled it, I added a couple table spoons of sugar to cut the heat. I think that once it melds in the fridge overnight, it will be perfect.
I am looking forward to using that salt. Thanks:)

Sounds like you put that salsa right where it should be, hot enough to handle, but just barely!

Yes indeed! I'm sure it would be too hot for some, but for a spice lover it's perfect!

I imagine I would get quite a case of the hiccups.

Man, the prep counter alone looked yummy to me! The salts a great idea for storage and later usage! The end result was, I bet, delicious.......... thanks for the show. Enjoyed!

Thanks for checking it out!

So cool! The avocado was a good choice. I make a Kiwi-Avocado salsa that is incredible and can be used for everything from salad dressing to topping off a steak! Glad that you liked it!

Ooo, I would love that recipe or maybe I can create my own. Either way sounds delicious....

Freshly shaven kiwi salsa... nice!

The salsa was excellent! I'm the Doc's cameraman and I got a taste of the goods. Very hot, but it didn't seem overwhelming. The heat also seemed to stay in the mouth and not burn too much on the way down. The peppers are appreciated @papa-pepper!

"salsaperience" is crucial

For sure! I've got a few (hundred) batches under my belt. :)

Great recipe!

It's like i can smell and taste the peppers from here... 😰

But yeah, looks like a delicious dip!

Thank you. :)

Two great recipes to show off @papa-pepper's generosity! That salsa would be really good with lots of things...

So many things to try this with... Yum!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63