You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pu-erh: A Tea for Enlightened Afternoons

in #food6 years ago

I bought half a dozen 19 year old sheng cakes in Hong Kong around the year 2010. I drink it so rarely that I have not even finished consuming one cake!!

I must say it is an enjoyable experience to drink this tea. It has an unique taste and is best drank in the company of puerh tea connoisseurs.

Thanks for sharing, @indigoocean.

Sort:  

Wow, how fortunate. You'll have better and better tea as the years go by, so good that you drink it slowly. I go through a cake in about 7 years, so not too bad either.
I love both sharing with a connoisseur and initiating a novice who will someday be a connoisseur!

Hi @indigoocean, Yes, that is true it gets better and better as the years go by. But I have always wondered how long can you keep it? Does it mean it can last even 100 years? Any idea?

They used to consider a puerh only properly aged at 50-100 years at least!
But it depends on how you're storing it. If you're exposing it to a lot of air, especially in a home with any mold, it probably doesn't maintain its flavor, and may also lose it's chi.
They say the flavor stops maturing in a place like San Francisco because the climate is never warm enough. But it will be preserved a long time at its current flavor there if you keep it away from mold exposure.

That means I can bequeath it to someone in my will!!

Thanks, @indigoocean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34