THE MARRIAGE OF A GHANAIAN BEVERAGE AND AN INTERNATIONAL SNACK

in #food7 years ago (edited)

BRUKINA + POPCORN; A PERFECT LOVE STORY

IMG_20170929_103254_mh1506683066423.jpg

Image shot by me with an Infinix Hot4


BRUKINA AND POPCORN

These two are one of my favourite snack combos so I couldn’t resist the edge to stretch my head out the window of the bus and shout “ heeeeyy! Brukina wura! (hey, Brukina Seller). I’m that aggressive when it comes to the foods I like lolx.
For the popcorn, I got it on my way to the bus station. I couldn’t resist it buttery aroma as I walked by the vendor.
So now I was in this bus with my two favourite snacks ready to eat the life out of them when a nice lady come to sit by me so I had to pass the food massacre and play gentle lolx. So i decided to use my travel time to share with my fellow steemians the recipes of this two nutritious snacks.

Xs4cJOi.png

Let's start with BRUKINA
brukina-drink.jpg
Image Source

Brukina is a nutritional beverage popular amongst people from northern Ghana and Hausa’s in general.
The blend of millet and fresh cow’s milk or yogurt indulges your taste buds and will make you ask for more and more and more like Oliver Twist lolx.

INGREDIENTS

  1. MILLET
  2. COW’S MILK OR YOGURT
  3. SUGAR OR HONEY
  4. Vanilla essence (or any essence of your choice)

COOKING UTENSILS NEEDED

A vapour-tight medium to large size cooking bowl and a sieve

METHOD

Buy your wholesome millet, wash it thoroughly and soak it overnight. The following morning, mill into a course texture.
Put your bowl of water and heat it to a boil. After that, form tiny millet balls by placing the milled millet in a sieve and rolling your palm on it. It’ll form tiny lumps of millet afterwards.
Pour the lumpy millet into the vapour-tight bowl and allow to cook. Monitor the millet from time to time until the lumps soften up. Pour out the millet when cooked and allow to cool.
In a separate bowl, mix the cow’s milk or yogurt plus the honey or sugar and the vanilla essence. When done, pour the mixture one the cooked millet lumps, bottle and refrigerate.
Serve when chilled.

Xs4cJOi.png
POPCORN
IMG_9371-682x1024.jpg
Image Source

Popcorn is one of the healthiest snack you can fine. It is a whole grain snack, which means you’ll be getting your full dose of fibre. And it is known to possess an antioxidant property which is beneficial to the overall health of a person.

INGREDIENTS

1.Popcorn Kernels
2.Salt
3.Butter or vegetable oil
4.Milk powder (Optional)

METHOD (no popcorn machine)

Place a pan (thick bottomed) on a medium to low heat, add your oil or butter plus salt (add the salt if you choose to use unsalted butter or oil) and let it heat up. To check whether the oil or butter is hot enough, place a few popcorn kernels in the sauce pan and when it starts to pop, add the rest and cover the pan. When all is popped, remove from the source of fire and turn the popcorn into a bowl. You can now sprinkle some milk powder on your popcorn and enjoy (this part is optional).

Try this recipe at home and enjoy a nutritious Ghanaian beverage and snack.
Xs4cJOi.png
steem.png

Sort:  

Nice work done keep it up ..

Yes real nice work

Thanks @yawgh . We'll keep creating good content.

I see this beverage all the time but I haven't try one before and I think I should. I love the way your presented how to prepare this beverage. well done @derletwins.... #teamghana

Yeah you should try it someday... it's delicious! 😊 @Collinz

Hahahaha...what a very good chemistry they share...good to have it..
Greatest STEEM,Greatest YOU makes a great chemistry..good work

😂 😂 😂 their bond is unbreakable!
Thanks @mcsamm

I like the two but l have not tried the two together...maybe someday. Good Presentation.

You definitely need to try it. It's amazing ...
Thank you @niisharmgar

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Wow, beautiful write up. I've learnt something. Thanks for sharing

I am glad you picked up something from this post. Thank you @jeline

My pleasure

@derletwins thank you for making me feel hungry lool ...nice teaching

Lolx...be prepared to be feel hungrier because upcoming posts will most likely be food related @ponmile

Ok.....😀😀

@derletwins this post was presented at the most recent Pimp Your Post Thursday on the Steemit Ramble Discord. I have written a post to share your featured post. Just stopping back to let you know that you can see your name in lights right here. (Just kidding about the lights :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46