Not Sure, But I Think the Waitress Fancies Me?

in #food8 years ago (edited)

I felt the need for something sweet, so I headed to the local pastry shop. I ordered a "saraliya" and two cookies, dipped in syrup, with a peanut on top.

This is what I was given. So... I'm not sure... she either likes or hates me, right?

"Saraliya" is the... long... thing in the middle. It's made from pastry dough, which is crafted in extremely thin layers, which are then rolled; between the layers there are either lots of chopped roasted peanuts or walnuts. Then it's dipped in sugary syrup for several hours, before served. "Saraliya" is a typical dessert on the Balkans, most popular in Turkey and Greece. It's most likely of Arabic origin.

Talking about tasty food, do check out what I cook at our restaurant for the personnel: In the Restaurant's Kitchen: Chef's Delight (Vegeterian Approved!)


Check out my latest articles:


I offer Professional Translation and Editing Services in exchange for Steem.

Sort:  

Actions Are Louder Than Words
Hard To Say What Is On Her
_____Mind.

Maybe I should just ask, right? :)

I Am Not Sure About That One

Either she fancies you, or she thinks you're a bit of a prick 8-). Be positive, assume the former!

That oddly-shaped Saraliya-thing sounds delicious, does it travel well enough to send me one?

Well, it's basically flour, sugar and nuts, but its rather fragile. It's delicious though - maybe I should make a how-to so you can reproduce it at home? It's rather time consuming, btw :)

Here's a home made version from a couple of days ago (courtesy of the other Chef - one saraliya has already been devoured by me!):

=D Reproduce it at home? If I would have a go at it the whole kitchen would be sticky afterwards and the result would look and taste rather different. Some things are best left to the pros.

Some day, there will be a 3D pastry printer... so it can automate making everything sticky at your kitchen :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56