Basil, Prosciutto, Goat Cheese Dates and The Metal Guitarist That Taught Me The Recipe

in #food8 years ago (edited)

In 2008, my friend @neilstrauss introduced me to Lisa Leveridge, the Guitarist from Courtney Love’s short-lived band The Chelsea.

We were all headed out to some swanky lounge in LA, and due to a laundry mishap (laziness), the only outfit I had was a plain white shirt and plain black tie. The second I stepped into the car, Lisa asked, "Why are you dressed as a waiter?"

The question took me by surprise, not because I was offended, but for a different reason. “You remind me of my mother,” I responded.

And I wasn't kidding, my mom was big into metal, quick witted, and liked to party. The waiter comment was exactly the kind of criticism she'd make. Plus, the two of them had eerily similar voices.

Somehow, this bizarre little exchange turned into a real and enjoyable conversation. We spoke about great guitarists, 90’s metal bands and good food. A few days later, we were asked to work together on a project that never panned out. We did, however, continue to cultivate a friendship, and she became a personal guide through the rock scene in LA.

A year into our friendship, Lisa invited me to Thanksgiving at her friend's place. There, surrounded by just about every woman from 90's metal that I’d obsessed over in high school, she taught me the recipe I'm about to share with you.

It' my go-to for parties and it's never failed to impress -- hopefully, it'll do as much good for you as it has for me.

Basil, Goat Cheese, and Prosciutto Dates

Recipe

Prep Time: 30 minutes
Cook Time: 10 minutes
Total Time: 40 minutes
Yield: Approx: 50 dates

Ingredients

  • 8 oz Dried Pitted Dates (1 package)
  • 5 oz Goat Cheese
  • A Bunch of Basil Leaves
  • 4 oz Prosciutto

Other Stuff

  • A Baking Pan
  • Tin Foil
  • Toothpicks

Preparation:

  • Line the baking pan with Tinfoil
  • Cut thin strips of prosciutto, long enough to wrap all the way around the date.
  • Use a small leaves, or tear a larger leaf to fit nicely around the date. (Use the pictures for reference)

Instructions:

Slice All of the Dates Open

Fill Each Date with Goat Cheese

Wrap the Dates in Basil, then Prosciutto, and stick a toothpick through each one.

Wrap the Dates in basil…

…then Prosciutto…

…skewer them with toothpicks...

...and bake them.

Bake the dates at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes or until prosciutto is crispy.

Serve them!

...and then bask in the unending tidal wave of compliments.

Thanks for reading!


I'm Decimus
I'm Verified

I write, I teach, I tell stories. Read my intro post.

Sort:  

Hi @decimus, your post is featured on the Steemitrecipes Daily Picks - Entry 022, Steem On!

Thats awesome -- Thanks!

very interesting combo. It is very hard to find dates here in Southern Chile, but the next time I find some, I will try this - STEEM ON!!

Very cool recipe!

Thanks for checking it out.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00