MOIST CHOCOLATE POTATO CAKE: The Best Cake You've Never Heard Of! (Secret Family Recipe)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

14319_10151602430544465_1745862828_n.jpg
This recipe came down to me from my great grandmother, whose surname was Scott. And even though she was a Scot, I believe this is an irish recipe, because... potatoes.

Our family has enjoyed this cake every year at Thanksgiving since I can remember. It makes a lovely autumn cake because it has those warm, fall spices usually found in pumpkin recipes. We serve it alongside pumpkin or apple pie, and everyone loves it and always asks for the recipe. For decades this recipe was tightly safeguarded by a gourmet guard dog, but Bobo is long passed away now, and it's time for recipe patrols to relax!

So, what is potato cake anyway? Think carrot cake with the cream cheese frosting, minus the raisins, plus cocoa, made in a bundt pan and you have a rough idea. At this point, you have to be curious what it tastes like. Let me tell you, it is delicious. My daughter even requests it for her birthday!

I have tweaked this recipe over the years to swap out inferior ingredients, such as Crisco. I'm a big believer in real food and quality ingredients, and it has only improved the flavor and texture of this cake. So, let's get to it!

Ingredients:
1 c. butter (easily sub half or all coconut oil)
2 c. sugar (easily sub coconut sugar)
4 eggs
2 c. flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla
1/5 tsp cloves
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1/5 tsp salt
1/5 c. cocoa powder (I like Rapunzel brand, Ghirardelli works well too)
1 c. chopped walnuts (optional, dust them in a little flour)
1 c. mashed potatoes (I usually microwave a russet potato, remove the skin and make mashed potato with a little water)
1/5 c. milk

Directions:
Preheat oven to 325 F. Cream butter and sugar and add well beaten eggs. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, salt, spices and chocolate and add in stages to the wet ingredients. Add milk and flour, gently mixing in between. Stir in walnuts and last stir in the potatoes and vanilla. Pour mixture into one or two oiled and floured bundt pans. An angel food cake pan also works very well. Bake in a "slow" oven at 325 F for about 1.5 hours or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Let cool on racks. Frost with cream cheese frosting or dust with powdered sugar. We even like it plain! This cake is one of those types that will taste better the next day. Somehow the flavors settle and meld together just right. So make it ahead of your event! Meanwhile, your house will smell amazing and you won't believe you've never heard of or made this amazing cake before!

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Great job....just the kind of thing I am looking for in my community project: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@allaboutpastries/my-dream-of-a-world-wide-steemit-community-of-food-lovers-can-we-do-it-yes-we-can . Can I use it please? I have made a rich chocolate cake using raw beetroot which is really good so I must try yours. X

Yes, I hope you do try it! Let me know how it turns out and how you like it!
Cool dream you have!

Thank you very much, I will try it and let you know. X

Looks yummy! I will have to try making this! Thanks for sharing💞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32