My first food blog: The bearded dad home cook chronicles episode #1 Spicy Portabella and Kielbasa with rice

in #food8 years ago
Quick introduction. I am Dennis. I am a home cook, Husband, and Dad. I have been cooking since i have been old enough to reach the stove. I cook foods from a multitude of regions. I love doing it so i figured why not share some of the things i make. 


I have these days where I am too lazy to go to the store to get anything for dinner. On these days I just randomly grab what I have around and come up with new ideas. This one in particular I did a couple days ago came out really good. You can adjust to taste as needed to make it fit your palate. 

Ok Enough of the boring details lets get to it

You will need

2x 8oz packs of portabella mushrooms

1x Turkey kielbasa (can use normal kielbasa obviously. i make most of my food as low calorie as possible)

4x Cups cooked rice (I use minute rice because its quick and easy. To get 4 cups use 2 cups water and 2 cups rice)

3x Tablespoons minced garlic

1x Tablespoon crushed red pepper 

1x Can tomato paste

1.5x Cup vegetable stock

1x can petite diced tomatoes

1x Can diced green chilies

2x Tablespoons olive oil

Ok so have we gone to the store to pick up the ingredients? Awesome lets cook. 

Grab a pan and toss the oil and garlic and red pepper in it. let that saute for a bit just to get the juices flowing. 


While you are doing this cook the rice. that's all the instruction you need on that lol. just cook it and set it aside


OK now back to the fun. Chop that sausage up and throw it in the pot. let that just saute real nice and good for about oh i don't know long enough to get your mushrooms chopped up.


And through the magic of the internet poof we have chopped mushrooms


Now toss those in the mix like this and let everything cook in happy yummy matrimony until the mushrooms are cooked down tender and have released their delicious mushroom liquid (you want this to help make the finished sauce do not drain it unless you want to be shunned by the mushroom lovers society)


So when the cooking of the mix is done (10-15 minutes) you are almost done. Now toss in everything else but the rice. Everyone in the pool. Looks awfully soupy don't it? Trust me it will all make sense in the end. Mix it all up and let it simmer for another 10 minutes.


Ok now this is the hardest part. Are you ready? Throw the rice in the pot. Mix it up. Let it heat through for about 5-7.25 minutes. 


I told you that was hard. Well that's it you are done. Now put it in a bowl or on a plate and add some shredded cheddar on top like i did if you like 


And there you have it. this will Reheat well in the microwave so you are set for lunch the next day. It is a bit on the spicy Side so if you are making this for the kids you might want to cut back on the red pepper and chilies a bit. 

Sort:  

It looks hot and delicious, superb @dburklen !

Thank you. it is really good. Plenty more to come soon @cynetyc

@cynetyc I've had the pleasure of eating @dburklen meals irl, and they're always amazing. I'm excited he's going to be sharing his recipes with us, since his recipes for the most part are either generationally traditional or completely off the top of his head.

@dburklen Great post, man! I'm so excited to follow your food adventures!! Look: @winstonwolfe @giftedgaia @quantumanomaly and @sykochica !! He likes talking about food like SteemitTalk Podcast does!! I'm so glad I talked you into this, Dennis.

I'm sure QA would like to have someone else provide the Podcast snacks! :P
This looks so good though!! Mmmmmmmmmmm!

So glad you got @dburklen to sign up here! Great addition for sure

Thanks @sykochica I've been cooking since I was 5. Always been a passion of mine and love sharing my love with people who appreciate a similar love for food

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43