Ulog #222: Shanghai Chicken & Mushrooms Pasta

in #food5 years ago

This is one of those food that brings me back to childhood memories. I use to eat this pasta dish at a pizza chain here in Malaysia called Shakey's. They have now shutdown and thus this dish is no where to be found. I wanted to reinvent this dish of my past and I'm pretty happy with the results that I've managed to come up with thus far.

I'm always improving on the recipe but I think I've nailed it this time!

As to why it's called Shanghai Chicken & Mushrooms, I have no idea. That's what they called it so I'm just using it as homage to what it was originally named as.

6fw6ep.jpg

The Mushrooms

I start off with flower/shiitaki mushrooms that I slice up. You could use dry ones too and I think it would be better because it had more mushroom flavor after dehydrating. I also add in some inexpensive oyster mushrooms but you could omit this and just have the shiitaki instead.

fx71e9.jpg

I tear up the oyster mushrooms into strips to make it more uniform with the shiitaki slices. That way they look better at the end.

I then fry them up in butter with some minced garlic; about 1 bulb of garlic and lots of butter by the way. After they turn color and you have fragrance of garlic and mushroom filling your kitchen, add in flour to make a roux. This will help thicken the sauce at the end. Fry the mixture about 2-3 minutes to take out the doughey taste from the flour and then add in milk. I use full cream milk but you could use fresh milk or half and half for this.

0mqwwj.jpg

I then season it with lots of crushed black pepper, salt, dried oregano, some worchestershire sauce, and chicken stock.

Leave this to simmer for about 5 minutes and you're done.

The Chicken

For the chicken, very simple. I add chicken breast; whole, to water that I've added salt and black pepper to and turn the gas off. Leave it in the hot boiling water to poach for about an hour. You'll end up with super tender and perfectly cooked, juicy chicken breast.

Slice the chicken breast up and add them to the pot with the mushrooms and sauce; DONE!

wf0tcu.jpg

Serve it up with some pasta of your liking. I chose spaghetti as it's a favorite option for most locals here.

pgclab.jpg

This was for a catering so that wanted sides of potato wedges with each portion. Absolutely delicious!


You can check out for more info at our Facebook page on our operation days and times or if you just plain like to see burger pictures :D

You can also find us on Instagram #burgergilerpower

-wq4w8wknqm.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @danielwong!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.829 which ranks you at #4911 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 91 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 200 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60