Ulog #174: Roasted Whole Turkey

in #food5 years ago

Last Christmas I did a whole roasted turkey for the first time. I was pretty confident and it turned out pretty good for my first try. With my first attempt at this, I learned a lot from it and how to improve on my next attempt.

I still have one more turkey in the freezer but I suppose it's gonna be till the coming Christmas till I cook it again XD

I bought 2 birds but used only one based on the demand at the time. I finished one whole turkey and didn't need the other one. Thus why I still have one in the freezer.

Anyway, I cimply roasted it with some vegetables. A basic trio of onions, carrots and celery, roughly chopped and added to the pan. I wasn't gonna use the vegetables for consumption, just for the aromatic flavors thus why I didn't bother cleaning them or removing the skin from the onions. After serving it's purpose I discarded them.

7pkb4jdylw.jpg

I stuffed the cavity of the bird with some celery and carrots too so it flavored the whole turkey. I basically just brushed some soy sauce and oyster sauce mixture on the skin with some salt and pepper and then roasted it at 200 degrees for about 1 and a half hours.

I was gonna use the turkey for a barbecue pulled turkey sandwich so I didn't really need to make sure the cook on it was perfect or anything extraordinary.

After letting it cool, I remove the meat from both the thighs and breasts and shredded them up. I made a barbecue sauce and mixed in the turkey meat. Super simple but super delicious for a sandwich.

I also made a in-house pickle consisting of celery, kyuri, carrots and some gerkins. Super easy and super delicious and the sourness paired really well with the sweet barbecued turkey meat all in between wholemeal buns. Super delicious burger and I'll definitely wanna do it agian this year come Christmas time.


You can check out for more info at our Facebook page on our operation days and times or if you just plain like to see burger pictures :D

You can also find us on Instagram #burgergilerpower

-wq4w8wknqm.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @danielwong!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.818 which ranks you at #4911 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 140 contributions, your post is ranked at #130.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to danielwong! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

That looks like a delicious dish thank you for sharing the recipe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87