Chef Life Magazine Issue #40: Christmas Lunch - Italian Style

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Me and my family usually gather for some food whenever its a special occasion like one of our birthday's or a festive holiday like Christmas. My dad usually pays coz well he likes to give us good things 😃

Here's our Christmas lunch at a nearby place called Solutto. Discovered this place about a month back when they just opened and they serve very affordable authentic Italian food and wanted my parents to try them out.

We were the only table the whole lunch the whole service of which I understand very well being a small local restaurant owner myself, people often pick shopping malls and holiday destinations over dining at a local restaurant whenever its a celebration or festive period. So I was happy to give them some business and hopefully made those that worked on a Christmas day there a little more cheerful.

Anyway, here's what we had. I highly recommend you to check out this place.

Highlight of the day,

Chicken Parm (Parmigiana)


One of the most authentic chicken parmigiana I've tasted around cooked by a Chinese guy whom I heard is a culinary graduate from Australia that came back to Malaysia to start this small restaurant. You can tell from his cooking that things are done with great care and love just the way Italian food is supposed to be made.

Also when I said affordable authentic Italian, I mean RM15.90 (USD3.80/SBD0.43). You can do a comparison anywhere else and you'll find that most places that don't serve as good as this place are already almost double the price.

26102340_10156045515588270_1159369582_o.jpg

Bruschetta


Again, I might be repeating this whole post on whatever I've already mentioned. This is simple yet so much heart put into it. Bread was crispy but not hard. Tomatoes diced in perfect uniform cubes dressed with a perfectly balanced vinaigrette, chopped parsley and parmesan cheese. Honestly one of the best, if not the best antipasto (starter dish) I've ever had.

26102395_10156045515613270_1751991722_o.jpg

Grilled Chicken Tenderloin


This dish came out in literally 5 minutes or less. Extremely moist on the inside and nicely charred on the outside in what I'm guessing was pre-prepped using a sous vide. Not to mention you can't cook chicken that fast, it can't be that moist over a grill. Talk about simple, this dish was refined and eating it, you knew it was done with passion and finesse.

26060807_10156045515568270_1826459326_o.jpg

Butter Fish with Dill Cream Sauce


As you've noticed, most of their mains come with the same sides. The garden salad is extremely good with the dressing almost too difficult for my palate to identify whats in it. No jokes, even the salad has so much attention put into it and not just some raw lettuce thrown on a plate like so many places nowadays do.

On to the fish!
Well I've had this dish a few times so a little criticism is that it's not as good as it was before but still seriously good. I mean, it was really really really good. Now it's really really good. So as a chef I know it's not easy to always dish out perfect plates every single time so I'm gonna give this a thumbs up as well 👍

I still would recommend this dish so do give this a go!

26060871_10156045515523270_1972638587_o.jpg

Potato & Cheese Fondue

This is amazing. Ooey gooey cheesey goodness with chunks of potato as you transport that dip with the garlic bread slices into your mouth. You only get 3 shots at this so the rest you'll have to spoon it down 😂

We also ordered some other stuff but I didn't get them pictures sorry!

26061058_10156045515533270_840845814_o.jpg

Picture of 3 families. My brother's, my dad and mum and mine. You can read more stories of my brother's family on my sister-in-law's Steemit page @iamjadeline. They have an amazing and inspirational story which I'm sure will bring a lot of merry to not just your Christmas but to your life as well!

26101901_10156045513328270_1203528503_o.jpg

Final verdict of Solutto:

Decor & Ambience ★★★
Food ★★★★★
Service ★★★★
Pocket damage/dent: RM 111.10 (USD 27.10/SBD 3.01) for 6 adults and 3 kids. So please give them tips!

So hope you check this place out and keep them in business for many more years to come...... so I can enjoy good chicken parm 😃

Merry Christmas and happy holidays Steemians wherever you may be 😊

In case you missed the tags to Solutto, here it is -
https://www.facebook.com/www.solutto.com.my/

Sort:  

it all looks tasty

I hope I well eat this food in the future I add this to my dream book... thanks for sharing @danielwong

Chicken Parm is my absolute FAVORITE!
Being married to a 100% Sicilian... I had to learn to perfect the dish

Then I think you'd be way more experienced and ultra authentic. This one is cooked by a Chinese Malaysian who studied in Australia... go figure... but I think food has become so globalised that anyone can cook an "authentic" something :D

This one is cooked by a Chinese Malaysian who studied in Australia... go figure

Yeah I can see how this may not be considered truly authentic! lol

Yummmm, mouth wateringly yummy post! Price of the chicken dish sounds very good too! And it's near enough to me... Hope to try it out soon!
Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year!! ✨

Ah great great. Glad I could link up a foodie and a local business together :D

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you too!!!

I like that you include SBD in the price, SO DARN CHEAP earnings from one post can easily eat many times hahaha.

Yeah man :D

Oh you reminded me of something! I'll edit and include our total meal price of 6 adults and 3 kids :D

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @danielwong to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wow, all those dishes looks amazing! Seems like they have very good reviews on Facebook too! Definitely need to check it out if I'm around the area!

Wow, everything seems really delicious! Thank you for sharing! I love Bruschetta and Parmigiana, both with chicken or aubergines.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 6.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.24
Server time: 11:49:40
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 323.47/400.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 1.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61888.55
ETH 3400.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50