Delicious Nigerian Soups that'll Blow your Mind

in #food7 years ago (edited)

In Nigeria where I come from, food is a culture. Both men and women are encouraged to learn how to cook, not because we can’t eat out, but because we love to enjoy our local meals in the comfort of our house.

If you have plans of visiting Nigeria anytime soon, then you should check out these mouth-watering Nigerian delicacies.

Egusi Soup

This used to be my favorite soup until a friend of mine cooked ogbono soup for me. Egusi soup is the traditional food of the Igbo people in south eastern Nigeria, but it has become a usual soup for all the tribes in the country.

Edikaikong

Edikaikong soup was one of the things I loved most about people from Akwa Ibom state; so when I gained admission in the University of Uyo, Akwa Ibom state, I was so excited that I was finally going to have enough of this mouth watering food. It is prepared with fluted pumpkin leaf and waterleaf, as well as so many other nutritious ingredients.

Ogbono Soup

This is my favorite soup. I fell in love with this soup after a female friend cooked it in my house. She prepared it with smoked fish, snails, and beef. It took me a very high dose of discipline to not propose to her that day. Lol. Just kidding. But you really need to try out this soup.

Eforiro

This is one of the local delicacies of the Yorubas. It is prepared with African spinach and other ingredients that make it simply irresistible.

Afang Soup

I am tempted to say that this is the god of all soups, but let’s just pretend that it’s not. Afang soup is one of the most popular Nigerian soups. It is indigenous of the Akwa-Ibom and Cross River people. I lack the words to describe how tasty this soup is. You just have to try it out.

Oha Soup

For many year, there has been a war of words on the Nigerian social media space between fans of Oha soup and fans of Afang soup. Some say that Oha soup is better than Afang soup, while many others believe that Afang soup is…… the god of all soups

Oha soup is a traditional delicacy of the Igbo people (my people), and it’s such a delicious delicacy.

If you’re a foreigner, and you ever visit Nigeria, don’t forget to taste each and every one of these soups.

And, uhmmm for Nigerians here, are you Team Afang Soup or Team Oha soup?
I guess you already know where I belong.

Photo credits:
Naijafoodblog
Bobbyssignature.com
Sisijemimah.com
nairaland.com

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 18:52:09
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

@nandas

@corn113

@reko

@slowwalker

You love food right? Then you should try these also.

wow :-) you won make us hungry here, abi?

Lol.... I dey cook ogbono soup. You can came and have some.

😂😂😂😂😂
Baba I'm for Team Afang all the way...
You warned that I'll get hungry. Thank God i just ate before reading this. Good post brother.

Lol... Team Afang jare!

#TeamAfang, i just love this soup 🍲🍲

Team Afang!! 🙌🙌
My love for Afang is out of this world. This post got me salivating. Lemme go and have my dinner 😭

Boss I wanted to eat rice but your post made me want to eat soup right away. By the way team Afang all the way

That afang can give a man an orgasm. Good one Dandy

They sure look beautiful.,...... I'll love to taste the OHA soon

It's really delicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47