The Philippines' Carinderia

in #food6 years ago

Karinderia3.jpg

Just for the heck of it, I searched google for the word karinderya, and was absolutely surprised that Oxford Dictionaries actually has a definition for it, although they did changed the spelling a bit.

According to their website

Carinderia
(also karinderya)
NOUN
(in the Philippines) a food stall with a small seating area, typically in a market or at a roadside.


The idea is to serve home-cooked meals for the working Filipino. A typical carinderia is quaint, so don't expect any air-conditioning. The food will not be fancy but are usually good and are priced at rates that minimum-wagers will be able to afford. To be honest, I haven't tried a lot of Carinderia along the road, although the ones in the market are not new to me. I remember how my mom would leave me in one of those while she goes around buying food supplies from Bankerohan, the biggest market in my hometown. She would order sikwate (a hot chocolate drink) and puto maya (a type of rice cake) for me before she leaves. I've devoured the delicious duo by the time she comes back with her basket full of fruits, vegetables, blood-stained pork meat, and fresh fish.

My favorite carinderia would have to be the one in Mahogany Market in Tagaytay.

Karinderia.jpg

Whenever we visit Tagaytay, my family and I make sure to visit the carinderia lining up the second floor of the meat section in the market. We had Bulalo in all those times we visited. Theirs is as good as the ones served in restaurants but at half the price. I also get their Chicharong Bulaklak, which I don't usually order at other places. I love the senyorita that are available to customers at no extra cost. Those are tiny but sweet bananas, which serve as our dessert after we enjoyed our sumptuous meal.

senyorita.jpg

All photos are mine, taken using a Samsung S7 Edge camera phone

footer2.png

footer.jpg

Sort:  

Unlimited bananas and I miss the bulalo, especially these past days which has been raining a lot.

I've been thinking of Bulalo these days too. It would be very nice to have some now. =D

Bulalo :) I know there are a lot of restaurants in Tagaytay (from the ones in Mahogany market to fancy ones lining up the road) that serves bulalo but for me, the ones in Mahogany market are always the best. It may not be the same for everyone but it is for me. Probably because the meat is really fresh and just comes from the wet market beneath the stalls maybe. And moreover, they also have free bananas and pineapples :)

I haven't experienced the free pineapples yet. I'd love those. =D

Haha. Before, bago na renovate ang Mahogany market, they used to serve those along with the bananas but now they just serve bananas nalang :)

my tummy starts to crave...

me too! I'm craving for Bulalo! =D

Interesting information about “Carinderia” in your country. The idea that is to serve home-cooked meals for the working people is similar to the idea of street foods stalls in Thailand.

All foods in your photos look yummy. And I like the banana, too.

Thanks for sharing the experience during your childhood with us. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05