Look At The Size of My BUNYA!!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I heard this BIG pinecone fall out of the Bunya tree a couple days ago during a storm. It weights about 5kg, around 11 pounds!! 

I found out from my buddy it’s edible “bush tucker”... WINNING!!

Bunya evergreens grow in Queensland & apparently, the tree only crops after its 100 years old. Once it reaches maturity it only produces bunyas once every 2 or 3 years. 

So this is rare, gourmet bush tucker friends;) 

They've got SUPER SPIKY branches that you DO not want to get near.

And they fall off around the base of the tree, so watch your bare feet, the little buggers get stuck in your skin!! 

They’re not like normal nuts at all. 

Bunya’s are high in minerals, water, complex carbs (40%), protein (9%) and only a small amount of fat (2%).

First you have to take the nut out of the pine cone leaf (watch out there's spikes here too!!)

Then you can roast them or boil them up!!

I chose to boil them for 35mins as the first cooking step.

Then take a really sharp knife & cut them open to take them out. They feel like a sticky potato & I had to use a small spoon to get them out. 

They're tasty completely plain. Kinda like a mixture between sticky rice & soft potato. But I wanted to spice them up a bit, so the last thing I did was fry them on the sandwich press with butter. 

I also added smoked paprika, Himalayan salt & nutritional yeast....yummmmm!!! 

My hubby LOVED them too & he's a true blue Aussie;) 

  

If you liked this post please let me know, I love doing things like this! 

Here's to the Bunya's ;) 

Sort:  

Oh wow, I’ve never seen or heard of these trees before. The fruit sounds really good! Fried on a sandwich press, yum! I guess you just have to be careful not to get poked by a thorn...haha...thanks for sharing! Cheers to the bunya!

lol!! I've lived in Oz for almost 10 years & this is the first time I tried them...or even knew about them!! Everything in Australia has some kinda crazy defense system, even the trees ha ha. Cheers!

How fun! That's the hugest conifer fruit I've ever seen by far. Really cool of you to introduce this awesome plant, and share what you know about it. Good news: This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


Hi!! Rad Daddy;) Thanks for this #ocd-resteem & the suggestion, maybe a video next time instead...it would be my pleasure. Cheers

wow! that is an incredible wild edible! took over 100 years to get to that stage.. wow, really makes you appreciate it even more! i found this through @ocd! following you, welcome to steemit! :)

I ate it slowly ;) Thanks for following & the welcome, I'll hope over & follow you too, Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38