Trying out a Steemian’s recipe - thank you for the soda bread @brockolopolis

in #food6 years ago

I read @brockolopolis post about soda bread the other day and decided to give it a try. Here’s the address if you haven’t seen it :

https://steemit.com/baking/@brockolopolis/minielf-and-papa-make-soda-bread-for-the-1st-time

The recipe was really straightforward and required ingredients I basically already had in the cupboard except for the buttermilk. I used my alternative.

I’m not going to repeat the post; I’m just showing you above how straightforward it all is. The flour I had was seeded, but that didn’t seem to affect the result.

The last two mini photos above show you the alternative to the buttermilk.

Whenever a recipe calls for ‘buttermilk’ I use this alternative which is just milk and lemon juice (or vinegar).

I only had semi skimmed milk but full fat would be even better. The instructions can be found here. It’s basically 1 tablespoon of lemon juice to 1 cup of milk and leave to stand for about 5 minutes.

It all worked really well. The best thing from my point of view is that I didn’t have to worry about ‘kneading’ - I’ve still got eczema on three fingers at the moment so it hurts :(

Thank you so much for a tasty and easy-to-follow recipe. I will be making it again and I may add herbs like rosemary and perhaps some garlic for a very savoury soup accompaniment - bon appetit.



all photos by @cryptocariad



Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-02T05:10:24
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 11.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Your bread looks delicious and the recipe seems easy to follow.

Though the problem for me wouldn't be the buttermilk (during summer I drink a lot of it) but the bicarbonate of soda. That's not something I ever used for baking ;)

Thank you @muscara. I don't normally use bicarbonate of soda for baking - I mainly use it for cleaning :D

Look sounds sounds delicious @cryptocariad. 😊

Thank you and @gillianpearce - it wasn't a strong taste I have to say but it kept overnight.

Lovely bread the first and last photo really show that the loaf came out beautiful. I do like savory soda bread thats a great idea. Homemade bread in the house is so wonderful.

Thanks @steven-patrick. I think the yeast based bread gives off a stronger 'home-baking' aroma though. The girls liked it so I'm fine and happy :D

Ooo.. your bread looks yummy @cryptocariad. How does soda bread taste like? I also try to look for recipes that does not need kneading. I have not been successful so far with bread baking :(

The taste is hard to describe, @marblely ! I'm a bit weak so I cannot do kneading... this recipe is ideal and will repeat it adding a few things like herbs... or raisins to see how it goes :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65551.56
ETH 2659.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89