MiniElf and Papa Make Soda Bread for the 1st Time

in #baking6 years ago

sodabread1.jpg
Check out how to, and how we, made Soda Bread for the first time

Good Afternoon, evening, or morning Steemit folks.

There's all sorts of credit that needs to be given out for this post before I get started. Past that I promise not to drag my feet too much! First: @nateonsteemit replied here when I asked about what Podcasts people are listening to. He pointed me towards the Survival Podcast, the guy on there is always talking about Soda bread. Then I listened to another Podcast recommended me by @preparedwombat called Hardcore History... The first one I listened to was regarding the attempted holocaust of the gaelic by Ceasar of Rome. Great Grandma Edith was Irish.
My wonderful assistant, MiniElf - our first time baking together! And of course my beautiful wife @elfmyselfandi for all of this.

There's a lady from the church who made buns that taste just like Soda Bread, and I always wondered how she did that. I figured it out.

First Ingredient! Proud dad and his baby girl:
sodabread5.jpg

Second ingredient, throw down:

400 grams of flour

sodabread2.jpg

1 teaspoon of baking Soda

sodabread3.jpg

1 teaspoon of salt

sodabread4.jpg

Moose Jerkey for Dad
sodabread15.jpg



Make sure you mix your flour, salt, and baking soda up nicely.

Okay, so then measure out 300 ml of Buttermilk

sodabread6.jpg

and pour it into the flour mixture.

sodabread10.jpg

Roll it into a big ball so that all of the mixture becomes one consistency. If it's dry, add more milk. If it's too wet... jeeze I dunno man, make gravy..

So then, once it's one ball, cut it in half and roll em out into two balls. Score the balls with two deep cuts. Set the Oven to 220ͦͦC, or 420 ͦ F and bake em for 25 minutes. sodabread14.jpg

sodabread13.jpg

Then, and I don't know why... pull it out, cover loose with tin foil, and stick it back in for ten. Then pull it out and feel so proud of yourself for making this super easy yummy bread.

sodabread1.jpg


I've been making bread each morning for the past few mornings. This was my favorite time. It was super nice to do with miniElf, and tell her about what and why I was doing things. Except for the baking soda, which was an important part. I apologized to her, and explained that dad isn't perfect and will screw up sometimes. That we all do, and I'll always love her anyway.

The bread is so fantastic. I understand why that podcast guy rants about it. Will be keeping this one in the filing system.

As always, if you've got questions, comments, suggestions or whatever, comment below. That's why I'm here.

Sort:  

Thank you for the recipe @brockolopolis... It looks easy enough for people like me to try :D - my only issue is the buttermilk I will try to find some or else I will have to substitute.

Mmm i think you could substitute for cream meant for whipping cream. Ive done that with other breads and coatings and still had good results. It's difficult to find in supply here, usually only a litre at a time. Which in turn makes it quite expensive. Another reason why i look forward to our having goats in the future.

Having your own goats or milk cows will be awesome! Butter, milk, cream, buttermilk! Every day!

Thanks @brockolopolis... I was thinking of adding lemon to normal milk as suggested here - it's worked for me in the past :D
Good luck with the goats. We had goats for a while; they were lovely but kept on escaping and eating what they were not supposed to 😂

Cool, please pet me know how that works for you! I had seen the suggestion before, but not ever used it.
And, we've heard they can be real escape artists!

Woo! That looks awesome :)

Glad the podcast is working out!

I missed this post! How come I don't know, great recipe, great cooks 😊

Hey man, how are y'all up there? Did the harsh cold Canadian summer cut off your power?

Congratulations @brockolopolis! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @brockolopolis! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85