Monkey Bites- an Easy & Delicious TreatsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Sometimes a really good food blogger will give you inspiration to come up with something completely innovative! Other times they will just leave you hungry. But sometimes, they will trigger a memory of something you haven’t made in a while. This was the case when I read @Gringalicious’s post yesterday. I grew up eating 'Nilla wafers and banana pudding, but with the allergies in our house, and the fact that my kids don't care much for the texture of pudding, well, it's been a few years since I've had that tasty treat.

Side note: I am so excited for an upcoming N. Idaho Steemit meetup and meeting this talented fellow foodie in person! Also looking forward to sampling one of her goodies as she's providing dessert! Yum!

But that doesn't mean I'm going to deprive us of treats. I just have to get creative!

I remembered a snack that is so ridiculously easy there isn’t even a recipe! In fact, most of us have all the necessary ingredients. It’s very versatile and as long as you’re not allergic to bananas it’s very allergy friendly.

Monkey Bites!!

When you have a kid with complicated allergies, reading labels can get so tedious! And you can never let down your guard, because that brand of popcicles that you’ve been buying for months (because it’s the only one your local market carries that doesn’t have soy in it) suddenly decides to start using cherry or purple carrot for coloring! (Carrot and cherry are both a no-no in this house.) Seriously? Coloring? And of course, I didn’t notice at the store, so frustrating! Anyway, this is life with allergies and honestly it often easier to just make your own than fuss with those variables.

When I first made these, I was trying to mimic Dreyer’s Dibs, so I would dunk the entire banana slice in chocolate, but that was messy and really heavy on the chocolate.

Then one day I was in a crazy hurry and decided to just top the slices and guess what? The kids didn’t even notice! They still loved them, so yay for quicker, easier and less sugar!

And if you’re allergic to chocolate, these are really yummy with a dollop of regular of dairy-free yogurt frozen on top! We like them topped with Celtic Sea Salt, but I’ve also used cookie crumbs and sprinkles. I used some crumbled freeze-dried raspberries today for a pop of color.

Here are the easy directions:

Ingredients:

• Bananas
• Your choice of chocolate (approx 1/4 c per banana)
• Coconut oil (approx 1 tsp)
• Sea salt (optional but not really. It REALLY brings out the sweetness nicely!)

  1. Slice the banana(s). Spread on a parchment lined tray for easy cleanup. Freeze for 30 minutes.
  2. Melt the chocolate. (We ditched our microwave years ago, so I made a double boiler out of a small pot and bowl.)
  3. Add a spoon of coconut oil and a few dashes of salt and stir well.
  4. Drizzle or spread the chocolate on to the frozen bananas.

If you’re going to sprinkle any toppings, do that as you go, otherwise the chocolate will harden and your toppings will not stick.

So easy, a monkey could do it. (I often call my kiddos my little monkeys affectionately.) It might get a bit messier, but they’re still just as tasty!


The monkeys approve!

**We actually made a little discovery while making these today. When the warm chocolate is spread on frozen bananas, the chocolate hardens immediately, like the old “Chocolate Shell”. So you can eat them immediately. Well, with the second batch we didn’t freeze the slices first, so the chocolate did not harden, but then we popped them in the freezer and the chocolate hardened within minutes.

So you have your pick. Freeze before or after the chocolate! Either way, they won't last long...

What do you think? Will you try this tasty treat? If so, let me know how they turn out!

Sort:  

Oh wow, that will be an amazing treat for our house! Bananas don't last long here, but with chocolate too, oh my! Thanks for the recipe. I look forward to following future recipes!

Chocolate makes everything better. I've even seen chocolate covered bacon, but I have yet to try it. Thanks for stopping by!

looks so awesome! thanks for sharing! i will start following your exciting posts!

those look so easy to make and so tasty! favorite kind of treat! <3

Super easy... And fool-proof! Two of my favorite qualities! Ha!

We make these as a treat too! So yummy!

Yummy and easy for the win! 😁

You have been chosen to be my Fostered Gardener Of The Week Thanks to @fulltimegeek's delegation as a Steward of Gondor @goldendawne will be here for you to assist, guide and help you GROW- just like your garden- on steemit. Please accept this 100% Upvote for this post. You will receive a 100% Upvote for every post (up to seven per week) you make for the seven days CONGRATULATIONS on being a committed steemian!

I wish i could taste this.

Yum! Simple treats made with wee helping hands are the best.
Making note of this for when my grandson visits!

Yes! And the messier the bites get, they just look fancy! 😂

That is easy! Way to go mama. Thanks for sharing the post. We like bananas in pancakes, smoothies and chocolate shake.

Now, I have to say...I'm really glad you don't have a microwave. We chunked ours a long time ago too.

(I often call my kiddos my little monkeys affectionately.)

I thought I was the only one who call my little ones monkeys affectionately.

At first, I struggled with the thought of it, but in the end, the only thing I was using my microwave for was sanitizing sponges! Now I don't even miss it. We actually have a tiny one in the garage because when we have the grandparents stay with us, they're all used to having a microwave handy, but it stays out there!