Low-Carb Keto 'Rice' Pudding - [Low Calorie]

in #food6 years ago

IMG_20180106_135319_031.jpg


I tried doing a 'rice' pudding that's compatible with the ketogenic diet. The first few times I prepared it, I didn't use 'rice' and I used coconut milk.

However, I bought some shirataki 'rice', which is made of the konjac plant and is basically all fiber and no absorbable carbohydrates. I also bought unsweetened almond milk, which tastes really good (being subjective here) and it's 0 carbohydrates.

The special ingredient for this recipe is the pudding powder, which, based on your location, might be found in a similar iteration (list of ingredients). The pudding powder that I'm using has the following on the label:

  • cacao powder
  • glukomannan
  • menthol extract

One teaspoon of the powder is about 15 calories, the majority of them coming from fat and protein. So, for this recipe, I've been using:

  • 100ml of unsweetened almond milk (Alpro) - 13 kcals
  • 5g of pudding powder - 15 kcals
  • 30g of shirataki 'rice' - 12 kcals
  • 4g of erythritol

First I heated the almond milk. Took a few teaspoons and mixed it with the pudding. Then I added the mixture to the rest of the almond milk, added the 'rice' and let it cook slowly at reduced temperature for about 15 minutes. What's tricky about it is that if you don't stir it properly, it may form clumps. So make sure to stir until you get a smooth consistency.

After it cooled down, I stored it in the fridge until the evening when I served it. So, this recipe yielded about 40 calories and a negligible amount of digestible carbohydrates (less than 1 grams), which makes it very compatible with the ketogenic diet.


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

part of my resolution this year is to take keto diet and so far am doing well and the result are seen, no carbohydrates for me. this looks like a meal i could add to my diet plan and it looks easy to make

Good luck!

I am curious to experiment with this, would especially want to know how this is similar or different from the Chia Pudding I now often make!

My daughter just started Keto. She is the best chef in our family so I will be sharing all of the keto recipes I can find with her!!! I will be the happy taster~~giggle :)

Looking forward to see some of these recipes posted!

Ok, this one might be moving a little close to chemistry lab for my tastes. I imagine the fiber makes it fairly filling - does it really taste good? Like menthol?
Definitely strange - but nothing inherently wrong with that :)

You got it. The menthol is really enhancing the flavor, unlike other minthy products where it is not even perceived.

Looks great. I'll have to see if I can find all/similar ingredients around here.

thank you for sharing ♥
I also have after eating you can visit my account and give me a rating

yummy ... Very delicious! I hope you have a good appetite. Greetings from Venezuela

So nic dish

That would be great for my diet, I wanted to lose some weight...

It looks very rich and low in calories, the main thing is to take care of your body and eat very tasty and this dish is perfect in that aspect, thank you for sharing something totally new for me, Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84