A Taste of India - In IowasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Several months ago I wrote a post about a local Indian restaurant that has an incredible buffet.

In the same building as the restaurant is a little grocery store. Until my most recent visit a few weeks ago, I had never stepped into the store to look around. My friend, who is married to a woman from India, told me which snacks are really good. I followed his advice and purchased several little treats to keep at home and at work.


These crunchy sesame seed balls are delicious. They taste like peanut brittle but have the distinct flavor of sesame seeds that lingers long after they are eaten.


These Lays brand chips almost taste like barbecue at first, but there is a fiery burn that follows, making them unlike any other flavor!

According to my friend, these snack cookies are in nearly every household with children in India. At 25 cents per pack, who can resist that cute little kid on the package? The cookies taste like vanilla wafers.

I also purchased a bag of fennel seed for freshening up breath after a meal.

Fennel seed tastes like black licorice, so you either love it or you hate it.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

I enjoyed experiencing the tastes from another country. The next time I visit the restaurant, I will be sure to stop into the market side and pick up more treats!

Thank you for reading my post! Have a great weekend!

Sort:  

that looks good looks like spicy chicken

The chicken is Tandori Chicken, which isn't spicy but has a strong smokey flavor. It is absolutely delicious! Thanks for your comment!

As a fellow Iowan... I want to go here! Love trying new foods.

It is called Taj Mahal. It is on Center Point Road a little south of 42nd Street in Cedar Rapids.

Harmful, but tasty :)

Which is harmful?

hahah I am really happy after reading your article man.
I am from India and yes all the things you mention is true.
Make sure next time you try Dal Bati Churma with me at my home. I am a chef and will cook for you :D lol India

Wow, I envy you for how delicious your food is! So much flavor!

Thank You Dear :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22