Authentic Indian Food Close to HomesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

I was passing through Cedar Rapids, Iowa, yesterday. I couldn't resist stopping for lunch at my favorite restaurant.

It is Taj Mahal, an authentic Indian restaurant and grocery store.

The food is so incredibly good that it nearly blows my mind and my taste buds. I relish any opportunity I have to stop and eat there, which isn't often since Cedar Rapids is 55 miles from my home.

How authentic is it? Well, the entire staff is Indian. That says something. But what's more is that my good friend happened to marry a woman who moved to Iowa from India. She approves of the food, which says a lot.

I have trouble remembering the names of all the dishes, but Saag Chicken stands out as one of my favorites. And if you have never tried goat meat, they serve it here and it is pretty tasty. Everything is so good that I wish my stomach was larger, so I could take in more of this unbelievably amazing food.

If you ever find yourself passing through Cedar Rapids on Interstate 380, Taj Mahal is definitely worth a stop. The lunch buffet is ten dollars, and you will experience some great authentic food.

Thank you for allowing me to share this experience with you!

Sort:  

That looks really yummy. The Indian food I've tasted or seen doesn't look like that - it looks brown like mashed brown beans - everything looks brown. This looks delish.

They have some runny brown dishes on the buffet. I didn't get any in this plate, but they still taste great!

That looks so amazingly delicious!!! I would give my soul for all those carbs!!!! (bad luck I am on Keto diet)

I don't think there are many carbs in chicken, but I'm not sure about the sauce it is smothered in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58194.53
ETH 2364.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37