tropical guilt free "icecream"

in #food6 years ago

PicsArt_05-16-08.46.46.jpg

It is really warming up here in Kentucky! Spring came and went in a few short days it seems!

It has been in the lower 90's (°f) this week! Steeeeemy! ⬅pun intended

Our family has been enjoying some tasty cool treats in the evenings.

And! It's Paleo compliant!

(@hippiebaby & @hippiedaughter2 )
PicsArt_05-16-08.48.32.jpg

Today, I threw together; frozen pineapple, frozen strawberries, ripe banana and half of a ripe mango into the Vitamix.
Along with 3,000mg Vit C (asorbic acid), 2tsp turmeric, a dollop of coconut oil, and maybe 1/2c coconut milk.

I would have added collagen, but I ran out.

After blending to a creamy texture, I scooped into a tupperware dish, then tossed it in the freezer. By dinner, it was slightly soft still, prefect for scooping!

And yes... It is 90°f . Yes, @hippiedaughter3 is in pants and long sleeves... She dressed herself, haha!
PicsArt_05-16-08.49.00.jpg

Adding things like collagen peptides, avocado, or superfood powders to the mix would make this cool, tasty treat even more nourishing!

Even @hippiebaby loved it! So much so, she decided to wear it!
20180516_192704.jpg

It's also @hippiedaddy approved
PicsArt_05-16-08.47.38.jpg

20180516_192249.jpg

( @hippiedaugher1 was off frolicking in the yard, she had not time for picture taking)

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Oh my yummy ice cream! Thanks for the recipe. I don't have all of the ingredients but I have most of them. Will definitely try it soon.

Yep, it's been getting steeemy here too our spinach can't handle it and it's already bolting heh.

Wonderful family bonding :) I like seeing this and hope every family spend more time with each other.

Spinch never does well here, unless you start it super early in a green house!

www.anamericanhomestead.com plants Egyptian spinach, and the heat doesn't bother it. It looks a little different, but they claim the taste is the same. They live in the Ozark mountains in Ark; and they are on steemit.

They are the ones who brought me to steemit, so I owe them a kick in the pants for that, LOL!

BUT, they have a lot of good information online. I love their family posts, and the off grid info they have. They remind me of my Daughter, and Son in Law; so I am biased. :)

It looks so yummy from the way your whole family was enjoying it. Very interesting mix you have for the ice cream, very healthy too!! How did you think of all these ingredients, @corrielaine?? :)

(first time dropping by from #steemitmamas! :D)

I just think about what I have (ingredient wise), and figure out what tastes good together.
Sometime its just strawberries, coconut milk & maple syrup! Yummmm!

Wow it does sound yum by just hearing your next plan!! But seriously, I am amazed by the nutritious stuff you can add in, like the turmeric, Vit C, collagen peptides :)

I try to add as much goodness as I can.
I dont hide it from the kids either. I tell them what Im putting in, why & what it does, etc.
They love knowing how folds will nourish their bodies!

Oh this looks good! My daughter is the same way! It was 80 degrees today and she came out in pants and a sweater. I made her change! She put on a dress over pants. Better than that sweater lol.

Great idea to blend it all up and stick it in the freezer! I hadn't thought of that. I usually do smoothies with the frozen stuff and add a little milk. Then it's sort of runny but sort of frozen and some kids love it and some hate it. Making it into a sherbet sounds like a great idea!! I'm going to have to try this!!! :)

@apanamamama We do smoothies often too. But making it into sorbet is more satisfying to the kids. Dessert!

Id love to know more about collagen. I make ice-cream similarly, but keep bananas out!

@hippiebaby has some nice pants on!

@metzli i use collegen from grass fed cows. Its a great way to add protein and is great for joints!

Thanks! They are knitted wool shorties (as cloth diaper covers). They have a monster face booty!

20180518_193717-1.jpg

Ooohhh that looks good!! This just made me wanna try making ice cream again! I tried once but apparently you don't add water to the mix or it'll end up frosty :/ didn't know there's such thing as adding collagen and vit c, I'd like to know more about nourishing food too! Can't wait to read more :)

@alimamasstory i find i need to add some juicey fruit or a little liquid to the mix for it to blend soft, or partially frozen fruit vs completely frozen.

Canned coconut milk is my fave, it adds creamyness. Avocado adds great creamyness too!

Oh yes! I add collagen to lots of things! Oatmeal, coffee, smoothies, apple sauce, etc etc.
Vit C in most smoothies, juice, sorbet, and just daily really.

Is there a particular brand that you use for collagen and vit c? Not sure if I can find them here tho', I imagine it'd be really expensive :/

Do you have Amazon.com? Or something like Vitacost.com ?

They are a little pricey at first, investment wise, but they last a long time and go a long way!

Pure Collagen Peptides Powder (Hydrolyzed) | Grass-Fed, Certified Paleo Friendly, Non-Gmo and Gluten Free - Unflavored (16oz Bottle) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00XQ2XGAA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_0t4.AbHDYG35C

Nutribiotic Ascorbic Acid Powder, 2.2 Pound https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00028PH2Q/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_Pv4.AbRB8TYR2

Oh wow thanks! I wonder if iHerb sells them, I'll check 'em out 😃 xx

Probably!
There are other good brands too! These just happen to be what Ive used:)

The same short spring effect happened here in WV! (hi neighbor!) :) I swear last year we were still having overnight frosts, and this year we're already roasting!

That "ice cream" looks yummy! Like sherbet! Why turmeric though? Seems like that would overpower the fruity taste...can you taste it much?

You really cant taste the turmeric unless you add too much.
Turmeric is a super anti-inflamitory and antioxidant! So good for you!

Love it!! Ill have to try that because it is super hot down here in GA already. I have a kid like that too, he will wear a tanktop and shorts when its cold out, and then on a hot, sweaty day, will wear a sweatshirt and jeans. Crazy kids! ♥

Such goofs! It was 92 yesterday and she wabted to put on her winter coat to head to town! Lol

Haha! I believe it! Silly kids!

Love this idea for something cold, frosty and fruity.
And anything with bananas is bound to be good, in our opinion. 🍌

Bananas are a fan favorite here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62