Home-made Chicken Gyros

in #food7 years ago

Hey Everyone! A few years ago, my neighbor brought me some homemade gyros to try. I asked her how to make the gyros anticipating that they’d be very hard to make, but after she told me the recipe below, I was astonished at how easy it is to make homemade gyros! My kids love these and ask for them constantly! They are very healthy, especially compared to the greasy alternative you’ll find at local gyros shops. You can vary the meat by either using chicken, turkey or a lamb & beef combination.

Homemade Chicken Gyros Recipe

The Ingredients

  • 2 pounds ground chicken
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 fresh minced garlic cloves
  • ½ cup of fresh flat leaf parsley finely chopped
  • ½ cup Panko bread crumbs
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon paprika

The Instructions

  1. Mix all the ingredients together in a mixing bowl
  2. Form into a flat oval shaped loaf on a greased baking sheet
  3. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 60 minutes
  4. Slice thin strips from the loaf
  5. Serve with warm pita bread and yogurt cucumber sauce (2 cups plain yogurt, 1 tablespoon minced garlic, 1 small yellow onion sliced thin, 1 cucumber sliced thin, 1 teaspoon salt)

Thanks for reading this, please let me know if you try the recipe and if you enjoyed it in the comments below!

Sort:  

Looks delicious, thanks for sharing this recipe!

You are welcome! You really should try to make it at home - let me know what you think of the recipe.

I am planning on trying this for myself now, the ingredients look fresh and super healthy! Thank you very much @cookit for sharing this amazing recipe!

Definitely, You are welcome!

did you ever make it? would like to hear your thoughts!

I am hungry, good food

Thank you, I'm glad you think it looks good. I hope you try the recipe.

I hope so too, I will be trying it!

Mm this is great for meal prepping too, just gotta keep the chicken and pita separate until ready to eat. Thanks for sharing! I love chicken gyros

It's really easy too, try making it at home. You will save money and be eating healthy.

saving money and eating at home is always better imo

ha I wish I had more time to cook, these look delicious

It's quick and easy, you should really try to make it!

It does seem quick and easy, I'll give it a shot!

delicious, i want to try it at home. thanks for sharing

Please let me know what you think!

I will too!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 05:58:02
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Happy to participate!

this is a great contest, I hope it works out!

Thanks! If you make it at home let me know what you think.

I will let you know if I make it!

I will have breakfast, but if I had breakfast, I would definitely try .. :)

Let me know what you think when you make it, you can vary the spices too. Add some fresh jalapeno to spice it up!

haha spice it up with those jala's ;)

Aww it looks easy :D i never done gyros, i sure will try this. :D Super great lay out of recepy & your pictures are great to :D

Thanks! let me know what you think once you try it.

I'll also let you know, thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43