You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Green Smoothie Of The Day: Hempy Watermelon Papaya Morning Bliss

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I absolutely LOVE these recipes!

Since I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes two years ago at age 40, I have gotten into the whole green juice/green smoothie movement BIG TIME!

In fact, I went out and bought a juice machine the day after I received my diagnosis. Since I'm not big on eating the fibrous parts of a lot of green veggies, what I do is use my juicer and blender in tandem to make delicious smoothies.

Normally, I'll juice up 3 or 4 green veggies such as spinach, kale, broccoli, Swiss chard and/or cucumber, and then I'll add one fruit just to take away the bitterness. I like to add half a mango or maybe half a dozen strawberries to sweeten it up. Sometimes I'll even throw in half a banana for some potassium.

Anyway, as I was saying earlier, I use my juicer and blender together.

I'll juice up my green veggies and then add the juice to the blender. Then, I'll add my fruit to the blender whole (and peeled if necessary). I usually add some ice cubes, spring water, and some lemon or lime juice to that as well and then blend it all together.

The end product is a delicious smoothie that's extremely good for you! How can you go wrong?

Anyway, since I started juicing, I have been able to get my blood sugar under control and no longer take any diabetes meds. I will usually juice 2 meals per day and eat one meal as normal (still healthy foods).

The only downside to it is that it's expensive. It can cost me anywhere from $10-$15 per day for my two juice meals. However, I look at it as an investment in my health, which in my opinion, is the absolute BEST investment anybody can make!

Great article. Upvoted and followed :)

Sort:  

Thanks @contentking for sharing your story. It is amazing what food can do. I love smoothies high on veggies but my hubby isn't too keen on the green taste so we use more fruits than veggies... but good and healthy either way. Even though it might cost you up to 10-15 dollar a day, I'm sure it is still less expensive than the meds, doctors visit, and other treatment to control diabetes. Well done and thanks again for sharing your success. I totally agree fruits and veggies are the best investment one can make. We are lucky that we have so much fresh, non-chemical, locally produced fruits and veggies available to us. 10-15 dollar fruits and veggies are food for 2 people for 4 days. Love it! Have a great day ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62221.65
ETH 2424.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55