Green Smoothie Of The Day: Hempy Watermelon Papaya Morning Bliss

in #food7 years ago

DSCF1615.JPG

Happy Sunday fellow steemians. What are you guys up to today? Yesterday I spent the entire day at the tattoo shop of a friend and today I'm planning a relaxing Sunday Funday. Though I'm going to make something for the steemit culinary challenge since the theme is vegan, apart from that there is not much lined up and I love it.

It has been so hot the past few days, that I might even spend a day in the aircon and put on some movies or a series. While it's supposed to be rainy season, we have full sun and way too hot temperatures all day long.... I would love to have a non-sweat day. Believe me!

What is happening to our world and climate? Where's the rain? Where are the cooler temperatures that come with this season? If they don't come fast the rice crops may be in danger. Rice needs to be in the water with its feet all day long.... but no rain means no water filled rice fields. Since they survive of rice here in Cambodia, losing crops is no option here.

Let's cross fingers for some rain....

Ingredients (serves 2)

2 cups roughly chopped bok choy
1.5 cup water
2 cups watermelon chunks
1 cup papaya chunks
3 small tropical banana (equals 1 big banana)
2 tbsp hemp hearts (topping)
2 tbsp extra virgin coconut oil

DSCF1610.JPG

Directions

  1. Blend bok choy and water until smooth. Add remaining ingredients and blend again. If you have a high-speed blender you can throw everything in at once. Add more water if needed.
  2. Optional: Top with hemp heart or other toppings or superfoods if you like.

DSCF1627.JPG

Have a great Sunday!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL!
PICTURE(s) TAKEN WITH FUJI X-M1


If you enjoyed reading this post, make sure to follow my news feed here

Or check out my health and recipe blog for more yummy recipes!

Sort:  

I am sure that it will taste great because you prepared it...will love to try it out.
Due to your hardwork here and top quality posts which are undervalued , I just added you in my steemvoter.com (after reaching a mile stone) in order to better send in my support to your good work and quality posts...keep it up and more success.

Aww thank you so much, my friend! I'm so glad that you enjoy my recipes. Thanks for all your support! Much appreciated.

you are welcome, always. Do not forget to stay in touch. More success

We'll definitely keep in touch! Take care my friend ;)

Thanks, and more success to you.

I absolutely LOVE these recipes!

Since I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes two years ago at age 40, I have gotten into the whole green juice/green smoothie movement BIG TIME!

In fact, I went out and bought a juice machine the day after I received my diagnosis. Since I'm not big on eating the fibrous parts of a lot of green veggies, what I do is use my juicer and blender in tandem to make delicious smoothies.

Normally, I'll juice up 3 or 4 green veggies such as spinach, kale, broccoli, Swiss chard and/or cucumber, and then I'll add one fruit just to take away the bitterness. I like to add half a mango or maybe half a dozen strawberries to sweeten it up. Sometimes I'll even throw in half a banana for some potassium.

Anyway, as I was saying earlier, I use my juicer and blender together.

I'll juice up my green veggies and then add the juice to the blender. Then, I'll add my fruit to the blender whole (and peeled if necessary). I usually add some ice cubes, spring water, and some lemon or lime juice to that as well and then blend it all together.

The end product is a delicious smoothie that's extremely good for you! How can you go wrong?

Anyway, since I started juicing, I have been able to get my blood sugar under control and no longer take any diabetes meds. I will usually juice 2 meals per day and eat one meal as normal (still healthy foods).

The only downside to it is that it's expensive. It can cost me anywhere from $10-$15 per day for my two juice meals. However, I look at it as an investment in my health, which in my opinion, is the absolute BEST investment anybody can make!

Great article. Upvoted and followed :)

Thanks @contentking for sharing your story. It is amazing what food can do. I love smoothies high on veggies but my hubby isn't too keen on the green taste so we use more fruits than veggies... but good and healthy either way. Even though it might cost you up to 10-15 dollar a day, I'm sure it is still less expensive than the meds, doctors visit, and other treatment to control diabetes. Well done and thanks again for sharing your success. I totally agree fruits and veggies are the best investment one can make. We are lucky that we have so much fresh, non-chemical, locally produced fruits and veggies available to us. 10-15 dollar fruits and veggies are food for 2 people for 4 days. Love it! Have a great day ;)

Very good for the hot weather and nothing better to be healthy in the heat !!

True that! Time to make some new popsicles too ;) Melting her and it is only 9.40am.

Stay hydrated and enjoy your Sunday :)

Important in this heat! Thanks @journeyoflife! have a great week!

Very nice recipe for health and it's vegan...

yeah for plant-based foods1 Thanks for stopping by @rahul516

Healthy smoothie!!! Really nice I enjoyed it without taste it .

Hehe! One day my gorgeous friend I'll make you one that you can actually taste ;) Have a great day.

Wish some of the Mauritian rains could be sent over to Cambodia! It's been raining for weeks here! I'm just waiting for some sunny days to come @amy-goodrich!
Hope you are having a great Sunday though!
Thanks for the lovely smoothie btw, tropical banana are so delicious!

It's so strange. The rest of the country gets quite a lot of rain too.... but in Siem Reap it like the worst of the hot season.... So sweaty... luckily we have an aircon to find some cooling and be able to work and think. Can't wait to move back to the coast... love the ocean breeze. have a great day and enjoy the rain while you can hehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50