Wild Fermentation : Honey Pop!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hello friends!

So far you only know me for my #needleworkmonday posts, but it's time for me to branch out and share a bit more with you. Specifically, some of the fun stuff I like to do in my kitchen.

Like a lot of us these days, I've hopped onto the Live Foods bandwagon. The thing is, I'm all about low-maintenance. That means that keeping a sourdough starter is about as hard as I want to work. Kefir/tibicos, kombucha, miso . . . no thanks. I mean, I'd love to enjoy some of YOUR delicious homemade kombucha, but if my culture's going to die from a few days of neglect and (more importantly) have to be replaced through buying or trading, then no thanks. It's not making it into my kitchen.

This is where the wonder of wild fermentation comes in! This style of fermentation relies on naturally occurring microorganisms such as yeasts or bacteria to do the fermenting for you. No fancy-schmancy starter culture needed. So many of the well-known fermented foods are made by wild fermentation, such as sour dough bread, sauerkraut, and honey mead. Today, I bring you Honey Pop!

I didn't exactly invent Honey Pop. I'm basically going through the same process humans have used for millenia to make honey mead, which is probably the first way we ever got tipsy. I've just tweaked the process so that what is produced is actually a non-alcoholic version of the drink, more like a soda than a wine. Here's my process for one gallon:

ONE: Get a whole bunch of fruit and chop it up. The fruit not only gives a nice subtle flavor, but also provides super important sugars and enzymes for the fermentation process to take off. I use whatever's in season (being in Guatemala, there's always something in season). Lately it's been citrus; orange makes such a nice drink! Another favorite is passion fruit-lime. Apple did not go over well.

TWO: Measure out a generous 4 oz. of honey and get it into your primary fermenter. I've found that old Carlo Rossi one-gallon jugs are the best. They're easy to keep covered and keep the bugs out of, easy to pour from when bottling later, and relatively easy to clean. Add the fruit as well.

.

THREE: If you have a set-up like mine, you need to get all that honey and fruit through a funnel and into the jug. I use the uber-sophisticated "Jam It Down There With A Chopstick" technique. Highly effective. Then top it off with water and secure a cloth over the top of the jug. Make sure it is NOT airtight--you need to let all those airborne yeasts have access to your aromatic brew so that they'll settle down and start their fermentation magic. Shake your brew every day (another reason the Carlo Rossi jugs are great--just cover the top with one hand and give it a good shake). This incorporates all of the yeast that has settled on the top into the brew and allows for a much better fermentation.

.

Anywhere from 3 day to a week later it'll be bubbling away, the fruit will have risen to the top with all the carbonation, and every time you shake the jar the force of the carbonation will pop out some gas and liquid. This is time for bottling: straining out all the fruit, pour your brew into bottles which WILL be airtight and seal them well. Leave them to ferment for at least another few days. Carbonation will build up as fermentation continues, and you'll know it's ready when you see lots of lovely bubbles gushing up upon opening the bottle. Cheers!


Day 1 vs. Day 5: You can see how on Day 1 of fermentation all the fruit has settled to the bottom, but by Day 5 it is at the very top of the ferment, held there by the upward force of all the carbonation.
.

.

.

Any other lazy fermenters out there? What's your favorite recipe?

Sort:  

Great article and thank you for talking about wild fermentation, my favorite way to make hard cider. It's much under appreciated.

I'm happy you like it @survivingslav14! Wild fermentation's my favorite fermentation method by far

Happy to get to know more about you. I very much wish to learn more about fermentation, its on my to do list.

Thanks @borrowedearth! I highly recommend Sandor Ellix Katz's book Wild Fermentation as a great beginner (and beyond) fermenting resource

Very cool, @colleenthurber! I have never done this before but now I want to try!! Berries, such as blackberry and blueberry work fine, right? Thank you! P.S. I nominated this post for a Trophy Token.

Thanks @crystalize! I really appreciate the support. And yeah, I'd definitely give it a shot with berries. The only fruit that I'd hold back on is banana, because that just seems weird to me.

LOL.. Banana soda. Yikes!!

Thank you for contributing your knowledge to help others! Sotall.org Knowledge Directory of Steemit Posts has linked to this post. You can see your link here.

Wow super cool! Thanks @fernowl13! Just checked out the website, I'll definitely be following it

Welcome to steemit! If you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.
let me know and I can post an invite link here for you!

Wonderful, thanks @goldendawne! I'm definitely interested ☺

That's wonderful!!!
Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

Just click on the link and once in the group head to the Front Porch... any questions, people will answer for you- GREAT group of people there

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @colleenthurber to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Great post @colleenthurber I love drinking the honey pop. A super healthy, probiotic beverage. Its the best!

ooh, this is so cool! i would love to try this at least once. 😊

@jonpetrich check this out!

It's so easy and tasty. Go for it!

Very nice, I love homebrewing too!

Awesome! I just looked at your posts and I love them! I dabble a bit in natural dyes myself, following you now ☺


Congratulations! You were nominated for a TROPHY TOKEN award HERE Please comment your Bitshares address to receive your reward! You can also contact us on Discord @Trophy-Token. Thank you for being a great Steemian!
trophy4.png

Whoa this is great! Thanks! Let me figure out Bitshares and get back to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52760.21
ETH 2328.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12