2 WEEK LATE GARDEN UPDATE

in #food6 years ago

BUSY AND BLESSED


Has it really been almost 4 weeks since the last update....

Wow, It's been a busy 3  almost 4 weeks since the last garden update. I had intended to try to do these about once a week but as you can see that did not happen. The garden has been producing like crazy and without a massive post that would take 10 minutes to download I can’t show all of the pictures.   

Cucumbers out the wahzoo...

The Squash has slowed down over the last couple of weeks, but the cucumbers kicked it in high gear for a while to more than make up for it. We had to start a new rule 2 cucumbers with every meal, luckily everyone in the house likes cucumbers. I also tried an experiment with a salt cucumber recipe that @steemcafe found. I made two gallons of them and tried a jar with peppers and cucumbers. Both also have some fresh garlic(found it growing wild on the side of the road) and other spices, I’m still not sure about that process for preserving them but we will see how it is an about another week. We also made several jars of pickles, which turned out quite nicely, one quart is over half gone already.  

Looks like a lot of chili and salsa this winter....

The next rush to preserve looks like it is going to be tomatoes. We started prepping yesterday to can some diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, chili starter and my favorite, Salsa. For us, with the peppers still coming in strong, the chili starter and salsa are just a natural result. It is awesome in the winter when you can just brown some ground beef, pour a jar of starter in, add some beans, and have home-made chili in less than a half hour ready to eat.   

The corn and okra are coming in nicely even if they are short....

Then we also have a lot of okra coming in, which we generally batter and fry. My wife is really the only one who like the typical okra and tomatoes that many people make. I always tell her, we are in the south, you are supposed to fry everything. The okra is also getting to the point where we are going to start freezing it and storing it up for winter.  

We also planted several rows of corn which has started coming in. I was a bit worried about the corn, I think we may have a seed problem. 95% of the corn only grew to about 4 feet tall and the ears started making on the plants about a foot off the ground. I’ve been teasing my daughter-in-law that it was her fault. She’s only about 5’2” and she helped in the garden this year, so all the corn felt sorry for her and wanted her to be able to reach it.   

Beautiful isn't it...

Blessed with abundance. 

I also received a papa-pepper type blessing, in taking care of my parents garden while they are in Texas visiting family. Of course that means a lot more work and a lot more veggies to find something to do with.  My kitchen looks like a cross between a war-zone and a fruit stand at the moment, along with both refrigerators being full. I think it is going to be a canning/freezing marathon for several days.  

I guess that’s enough of an update, for now, my lunch break is pretty much over.

Now back to work.

 

Here's proof of.... 

A Corny Ending To An Overdue Post....  

I know it was corny, but I just couldn't resist the puntastic ending.

If you enjoyed this please Follow Upvote and Restream


Also if you Guys want to say Thank You to someone check out the latest Thank You Economy contest and give someone a shout out.

You can also catch me on 

LinkedIn  Yes I'm a super-nerd computer geek who likes nature and gardening.

Twitter   Mainly use this for airdrops and other things I enjoy scoping out.

Sort:  

Awesome post. Looks so good. Keep me updated.

howdy @coinsandchains! puntastic ending, haha! man ya'll are gonna be busy for days with all that canning! Is this typical each year? rather amazing. good eatin though and very smart both health and budget wise.
hey what's that red box thing on the wall? and what's that round green thing on the window? love that view of the garden!

Pretty much a typical year. At least this year we didn't do a lot of beans. We had an awesome year for beans last year. Planted 2 rows and ended up with 130 quarts which I still have almost half of.
The red thing is a copper pot/steamer, and the green is a waterproof bluetooth speaker.

coinsandchains! wow man..130 quarts! no wonder you don't need those this year but you still have tons of work with what you got and then your dad's garden, good thing you don't need much sleep!

Oh my goodness! Nice harvest!
I love the corn, okra and tomato blend for winter soups.
And yes it is beautiful!
Okra and hibiscus are of the same family. I love to grow okra to eat but also as an ornamental. The flowers are just gorgeous!
A blessing for sure!

Okra blooms are beautiful I was going to post this at some point, just haven't. I did have one guy who asked me about my pot plants, lol. The leaves are similar evidently.
okra_bloom.jpg

okra_leaf.jpg

Beautiful picture!

Looks like you got some good batch of harvest. :)

Could use a bit more weeding, though.

Yep, I pretty much gave up on that there is a row or two on each side that nothing is in so I just let it go and mowed it....

I can totally understand giving up in that regards.

What a wonderful harvest. Here in North Florida the ground is to soggy to think of growing a garden this season.Rain Rain Rain everyday.
Good luck and keep growing.

Got to love those Flordia 5 o'clock showers every day.
It's been raining here for 2 days straight, and red clay gardens are hard to work when they are wet.

Rain rain go away come back another day. Yep it's hard to just walk around with out getting your shoes soaked but soon we will be wanting the rain and there will be none. So it's best to enjoy it while we got it. LOL enjoy it...If I only had a boat.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by coinsandchains from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow looks like you have been super busy. I am still doing battle with a possum. He has been into everything. I think there will be some fence building next spring.

lol, fences usually don't work with possums. They are great climbers, and if their head will fit through a hole their whole body will. If you want to catch and relocate, salmon, wet dog food, or sardines work pretty well. If you have bear in the neighborhood "do not" use salmon or sardines, they love those.

Oh yeah there are some bear. I may never get to grow food here. Besides the possum, which is a whole family now. There is deer, raccoon, rabbit, groundhog. I kid you not something even dug up my onions. That was rather surprising to me.
Maybe I should stick to ornamentals. This could become one big comedy with me trying to outsmart the wildlife.

If you have deer, they will eat some varieties of Rhododendron, and when they eat it they will kill it. I learned this one the hard way. I found a purplish one that they don't like, don't remember the name though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65128.13
ETH 3549.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48