How to Make Gluten Free Vegetarian Chili!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

170.JPG

Winter is almost here. It is cold outside and a nice time to make a hot bowl of chili! I used to love my Mom's chili on a cold winter day! A warm, hearty meal on a cold night is just what I needed today! It is so cold out as it is around 42 degrees out and it's raining as well. Not only is this a tasty meal to eat in the colder months but it has so much protein in this! Over 20 grams per serving! Beans are excellent for you and so are the vegetarian grounds used in replace of meat here. I found a chili seasoning that was gluten free so that was nice. Chili is the perfect meal!

166.JPG

Ingredients needed:

One pack of Imitation Grounds for chili

One lrg. Onion

1 lrg. Green Pepper

1 8 oz.Can of stewed tomatoes

1 8 oz. Can of tomato sauce

1 can of kidney beans

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

1 teaspoon cumin

1/2 pack of Mccormick Gluten free chili seasoning

2 Tbs. brown sugar

3 Tbs. Oil

Toppings:

Cheddar Jack Shredded cheese & Sour cream

Stir all ingredients together on top of stove stirring often on medium high heat. After about 10 minutes of cooking on high and stirring, your onions should be clear now. Simmer on low for the next 5 to 6 minutes stirring often.

Enjoy!

You will need these items and a few more...

091.JPG

Gluten Free Spices are great to have! I have all the spices yet it's nice to add these as well for more flavor!
If you like it spicy, add more of this and the chili powder until you like it. I'm a lightweight in the spices Dept.

092.JPG

094.JPG

If you're brave, you can add some of this red hot chili sauce to your chili!!

098.JPG

Fresh Garlic is amazing for your health, it is a natural antibiotic! It has so many cures from lowering blood pressure to helping your overall body, garlic is amazing and should be eaten daily.

Emeril's knives are pretty spectacular!

107.JPG

109.JPG

I have a garlic presser but I like to dice it for chili.

135.JPG

136.JPG

I wish I had a sous-chef! Then I would never cry again with onions, lol! At least for chili, you don't have to cut them up so small.

138.JPG

139.JPG

I like green peppers!

140.JPG

144.JPG

Add everything to your pot or pan.

149.JPG

These are all unedited photos, the colors are naturally vibrant!

155.JPG

Make sure to keep stirring it as you do not want it to stick- you will need to use a non stick pan and about 3 tbs. of oil as needed when it gets dry while stirring.

158.JPG

Keep stirring it as you do not want it to burn, alter the heat as needed and add a little water water if it's too thick. I made a mess stirring it a lot but it didn't stick and was cooked evenly.

164.JPG

Top with cheddar cheese and sour cream and you are all set!

168.JPG

170.JPG

Sour cream helps with the heat as well!

174.JPG

188.JPG

These sweet cornbread gluten free muffins go excellent with chili! I will have to put those in another post soon!

181.JPG

182.JPG

198.JPG

176.JPG

200.JPG

Stay warm today with some chili! This will go great with cornbread, make a Taco-Chili salad with tortilla chips , lettuce,etc.! This makes a lot so maybe tomorrow is Taco Salad day with Chili! I kinda like the muffin as well, that makes a great corn muffin sandwich! I think I will enter that in @jaybird Steemit Sandwich Contest!

Steem On!

CLove71

File Aug 08, 2 31 25 PM.jpeg

There is a new Forum Link if you would like to meet and talk to other Steemians! We will be talking about everything from Steem to Music and everything in between!

https://chainbb.com/f/steemlife

Sort:  

Looks tasty! Great photo blog @clove71

Thanks! Chili is perfect this time of year when it's cold here. :-)

I am neither vegan nor gluten free, but this looks great! I may have to try it out

I'm not vegan or gluten free either, although I do eat about 75% Gluten free. This is so good, the sweetness of the cornbread and the meaty chili together. If you like Southern Cuisine, I think you would love it. It's cool to have a dish that is good for you but tastes great too.

Looks good, must taste good. Tx

Thanks so much! It tastes good indeed. :-)

That looks amazing. :) I'd like to put it in a salad :) Thanks for sharing.

Thanks! That will be my next post, I'll make the taco salad- chili one tomorrow! :-)

This post has received a 2.97 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @clove71.

That's another great share.
I've resteemed your post!

OMG @clove71, I'm resteeming so I can keep the recipe close by! Thank you!

Thank you so much! I love to cook a lot of things that are vegetarian and gluten free but taste like Southern Home cooking foods, lol! It's so easy these days to do just that and it tastes the exact same or sometimes even better! I resteemed your Steemit Art Logo's they are super gorgeous and I need to try that! Thanks!

This post has received a 0.74 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @steempowerpics. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73