You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Embracing the Darkness: My Eclipse Day Menu

in #food7 years ago

One of my favorite posts so far on Steemit. Glad to see I am already following you. I love the superimposed Humboldt Fog/Teahupoo image! I just watched a documentary on that the other day on Youtube about Laird Hamilton and how important that wave is and how now he said he wished he hadn't published the photo because it ended up drawing too many surfers to Teahupoo!

I definitely need to check out this Humboldt Fog. Your description sounds like absolute heaven. Glad that California has followed up its wine conquest with a bid for the cheese triple crown.

My best friend and I are working on a secret project that involves cheese. Maybe I can hit you up sometime about being a contributor?

One last thing - your Humboldt Fog/Teahupoo superimposition reminds me a of a poster my teacher had when I was in third grade. It was about 20x30 and it was produced by Friendly's Ice Cream. It showed a typical gorgeous beach scene with a couple running down a wide, white sand beach with azure waves breaking along the bottom and a giant cliff descending from the left down into the ocean. But wait! That wasn't a cliff - it was a series of giant scoops of ice cream in every flavor that Friendly's offered. It was a spectacular poster. And the teacher told us that we were to write an essay describing the poster and then read them aloud. Then the class would vote on whose essay was the best and that person would win the poster. I put everything I had into that essay, describing each chunk of gooey caramel dripping with melted vanilla cream and sliding down a shelf of luscious fudge with pecans, splashing into refreshing mint with dark chocolate, etc. etc. When it came time to read my essay, I went last and I knew I had it in the bag. I didn't get even a third way through when the class was literally moaning at my descriptions and yelling out things like, "Oh my God I need ice cream right now!" I won the poster.

Sort:  

That's a great story! I'm glad to have triggered such a memory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75