It's going to be a GOOD friday - I'm Pickle Fish Rich

in #food5 years ago

Hey My J's,

Che is on the back up
Drug free so put the crack up
No need for speed
I'm anti d-r-u-g-g-I-e my
Body is healthy
And rhymes makes me wealthy

Sorry I couldn't resist a little marky mark going into the long weekend.

So Easter weekend approaches and us catholic prepare for it the only way we know how, honouring that last supper vibes with fish of course, its a good friday so its all about them good vibrations.

7iiqnwtmb0.jpg

A South African tradition

The serving of pickled fish on Good Friday is a uniquely South African tradition with a history that no one quite knows anything about, we just know that's what we do on a Good Friday.

One thing everyone agrees on is that this food tradition hails from the Western Cape. Beyond that, no one has a clue.

Rumour has it came about because fishing boats didn't used to go out over the Easter weekend making the pickling of fish a necessity in the days before fridges and freezers.

I say its because its liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit!

Half the fun starts in preparing all of it, like a dooms day prepper, lol! We're going into hiding ya'll!

Chop emFry emSauce em
uwneoooq7x.jpgfz7j5klqju.jpgae3f9qe5so.jpg

One more for good measure

So to prepare for the 4 day long weekend we prepare an unreasonable amount of pickle fish which we all consume in combination with hot cross buns. Then on Easter its all about the chocolate baby, needless to say a lot of eating will be done in the next few days so hold on to your waist line boys and girls

lku3447cyc.jpg

Do you guys have any Easter weekend traditions? What are they and why do you carry them out?

Have your say

What are you all getting up to this long weekend? I'll be between a picklefish and a hot cross bun :P

Holla at me in the comments! All my commenters I will now refer to as Jessie. Jessie is a good friend of mine, but Jessies got a girl, and I want to make her mine.

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, simply comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Buy and sell STEEMGet Daily UpvotesGet A STEEM account
blocktrades.jpgsmartvote.jpgsteemninja.jpg
Sort:  

I'm so hungry now...I LOVE FISH...FISH FISH FISH.....

Lol me too, sea food is my favourite so I’m looking forward to digging in

Posted using Partiko iOS

I remember when I was having a home stay in Shoshanguve with one of the local family, I almost burn down their kitchen. Really envy you to the max 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow you stated in soshanguve? Lol what were you doing there? Hey you should be careful with those stoves you can quickly turn the neighbourhood into a veldfire

Posted using Partiko iOS

Weekend home stay during youth day celebration. Yes. I'm still alive 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Yummy 😊 it looks delicious! Thank you for Sharing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, I really can’t wait to dig in tomorrow it’s going to be epic

Posted using Partiko iOS

That dish looks delicious. Also at home we already have fish reserves for this weekend.we will prepare tuna vinaigrette, pepitona tortillas and those who can not miss, fried fish. So we will spend these days waiting for Easter, my friend. Rest and enjoy, greetings.

That sounds great I’d love to try those tortillas! If you post about it please tag me in it I’d love to see your Easter festivities 🥳

Posted using Partiko iOS

Those tortillas are famous in my region these days, we also call them curds. I'd love for you to try them Hahaha! They are delicious. When I prepare them, I will encourage myself to take pictures and make a publication to label you. A hug.

I’m always interested to learn about other people’s customs around the world! I’m excited for your post and I hope you have An amazing Easter with your family

Posted using Partiko iOS

My Mom waits all year for this season when the local bakery starts making hot cross buns. She buys up all she can get ahold of and freezes them for later. Her stash usually lasts her until about September.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol your mom sounds like a woman after my own heart I’d be visiting her from April to September just dropping in randomly for a bun and some tea

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm sure she would enjoy the company. She is an incredible woman, kind and giving and cheerful.

Posted using Partiko Android

What kind of fish?

Posted using Partiko Android

We use benguela hake and thyrsites atun

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.865 which ranks you at #4319 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 49 places in the last three days (old rank 4368).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 184 contributions, your post is ranked at #114.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63