Pizza with Herbs and Vegetables

in #food6 years ago

Pizza is one of those foods that I never get tired of eating. Lately, I kept seeing a pizza dough, that I made, in the freezer. Whenever I opened the freezer door I would see the pizza dough and think of the satisfying meal that it would become.


It is summertime in the States and each day I see my herb garden growing and maturing. To me herbs represent possibilities. You can take a grilled eggplant and season it with cilantro, mint and Thai basil and you have beginnings of an Asian dish. Take the same eggplant and stew it with thyme, bay leaf and parsley and you have the beginnings of a European dish.

Below are golden oregano and Thai basil. I would see these two herbs in the garden and their colors and flavors seemed like a great match for the pizza dough in the freezer.


This pizza came together so nicely. I defrosted the dough in the refrigerator overnight. The next morning I spread out the dough into an oiled pan and let the dough rise for a few hours.

To the pie I added:

  • Tomatoes
  • Golden Oregano
  • Thai Basil
  • Chanterelle Mushrooms
  • Sweet Onions
  • Mozzarella Cheese

The pie bakes in a 450F oven for 20 minutes. I like to have a raw flavor and texture on my pizza so I finished off the cooked pie with fresh arugula. For a final seasoning, I sprinkled the pizza with kalamata olive flavored fleur de sel.

IMB_TwDzax.GIF

Sort:  

do you have a youtube channel where i can see how this pizza is made???

nope, but the pizza is as simple to make as the gif above. Good luck and thanks for stopping by today!

i find your post valuable.. good writeup

You are welcome, happy posting

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post is featured in my The Kitchen Table Edition 16: Recipes, Cooking & Food Curation Day post!!

ALL PROCEEDS from this post are EQUALLY divided between the three featured authors' posts.

Thanks @goldendawne! That is a real honor!

What a terrific idea using fresh tomatoes in place of tomato sauce for your pizza. All the fresh herbs make it so flavorful. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks @loveself! The tomatoes work great as a replacement for tomato sauce.

Oh my, this looks wonderful! I so miss my herb garden. There is nothing like picking fresh herbs for a dish you are preparing. And pizza.....I also miss a good pizza! Beautiful post

Thank you @birdsinparadise! You are so right about picking fresh herbs. I was thinking while picking these herbs that you cannot buy anything this fresh. The freshest herbs in the market place are at best a day old and more likely much older. These herbs were on the pizza within two minutes! Thanks for your comment!

Love it! Simple and Im sure delicious @chefsteve! Its great to use your own fresh herbs from your garden :) We moved to a new house a few months ago so I will eventually start new one again. I miss the one I had!
Basil is my favorite😄 ahhh... that smell:)
Thanks for sharing and giving us an opening 'taste'to the upcoming contest🤗😄

Yes, I am loving all the herbs and actually being home for the summer. I usually travel for work all summer and so this is the first year in many that I have been able to plant herbs and veggies. I like basil too! I have Thai and Italian basil growing. I forgot that pizza is an upcoming theme!! I am making more pizza next weekend with a friend and I'll probably post that too! He has a proper high temp pizza oven so we will make Neapolitan style pies. Hope to see you in CwU next month!

Great that you have a chance to be home for the summer:) enjoy that time and enjoy your garden! Looking forward to your next pizza youll be making with your friend, im sure itll be delicious🤗 Have a great week @chefsteve!

Love to see this unique shape pizza...it looks so delicious
I will also try it out at home
Thanks for sharing your concept @chefsteve
can u please upload your cooking videos on dtube??

Thanks for you comment @niteshgupta. Are you part of dtube? or you just like to watch cooking videos?

@chefsteve I love watching cooking videos, as a creator I m not on dtube but I prefer watching these types of videos on dtube.
Hope you will upload some of yours?

Pizza is something I enjoy as well and rarely get tired of. I love it especially when there's lots of vegetables and herbs like you have here - fresh and cooked alike.

Great idea for dinner tonight!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42