Pa Thong Ko, Thai Doughnuts

in #food6 years ago

In Bangkok, breakfast is a favorite time of day for me. I typically go for some type of soup for breakfast. Either Thai congee, noodle soup or wonton soup. This is in stark contrast to my usual cup of espresso breakfast back home in the States. When having soup, I love to add some pa thong ko to the bowl for some crispy texture and satisfying richness. There are two types of pa thong ko, a sweet variety and a salty one. I prefer the salty one.

Pa thong ko is made by attaching two pieces of dough together, or making it look that way and then frying it. The Thai story behind this doughnut is sweet. They say that the doughnut represents to lovers that are deeply attached to each other and always seen together. Source of this story

We normally head out at 6am to do some exercise in the local park before returning home to have breakfast. On the walk to the park we see all the street food vendors setting up for the day. This is my motivation to get the workout done! On the way back from the park I usually get some sort of snack or something like pa thong ko to add to my breakfast at home.

One thing I love about walking the streets of Bangkok is seeing all the street food vendors. It is like being given exclusive access into a chef's kitchen. You can just walk right up and watch the chef in action, ask questions and then try out their dish all within a few minutes. I learn so much by doing this.


This street food vendor is making pa thong ko


Here the doughnuts have just started frying


Check out how skilled this chef is at cutting and folding the dough.


After a tough workout I reward myself with a few doughnuts while walking home for breakfast!


One morning I enjoyed wonton soup with some pa thong ko. We use pork to make these wontons and I like to dip them in chili sauce. I just noticed that I picked up two different chop sticks!


The next morning I picked up some more doughnuts and had them with Thai congee. This congee has shrimp and pickled chilies added to it.

  • Do you like to eat noodle soups or congee for breakfast?

  • Have you ever had a salty doughnut like this before?

I hope you have enjoyed this breakfast treat that I have shared with you.
Steve

Sort:  

Thank you for this wonderful article ... :-)
It is the original way that Thai people enjoyed Pa Thong Ko :D
And you know what ! from this article it makes me miss Thailand so bad .. hopefully I could arrange the schedule and visit my family this year.

However, since we don't have "real Pa Thong Ko" in New Orleans, so I decided to go and get these Beignets from Cafe Du Monde instead.

They are similar .. but I promise that i will get the real Pa Thong Ko when I arrive Thailand for sure :-)

Thank you again a wonderful article which make me miss Thailand so much :-) S_7523002087654.jpg

Wow, thanks for sending a pic of Beignets from Cafe Du Monde in New Orleans! I love that place and the beignets. The food in New Orleans is so good!

Hi @chefsteve
Sorry for late reply but finally I make it !!! yaye !

Well, also love the southern food too and I know that you also love our Thai food food sooooooo much too lol :-) ... thank you again for the post of "Pa-Thing-Ko" which make me stopped and read and know you ... honestly !! your post made me had a great day at "Cafe Du Monde" .. Hope to read more from you .. / have a great day :-)

Thanks for your kind words! I am still in BKK and have a ton of new content. I'll be posting soon!

Here you go !!
Great !! @chefsteve
And I am sure I would enjoy all of them
:-)

it's always beautiful to watch anyone do anything very well.

Could not agree more! thanks for the comment!

Street food is unbelievable in Asia. Absolutely specialized people doing just one or two things, but doing them to perfection. I think street food is the thing I love the most of Asia.
I was ok with having soup for breakfast, you get used to it. But not so ok with the chilly amounts... I never get used to. Too mucho for me. I like a bit of spiciness, but man, those people eat fire!!!

I totally agree about the street vendors. They are truly masters of what they do. So much fun to watch them work. I like my food spicy, so I do not mind eating chilies for breakfast! I love the burn!!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 01:27:07
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 107.18/200.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Welcome,I hope you like and enjoy eating Thai food.

Thank you! Yes, I really do enjoy Thai food!

It’s smazing how different breakfast can be between countries or even regions. In the US, those dishes would be served more for lunch or dinner, or maybe as afternoon snack. But really, why not?!?

Looks delicious! And that was fun watching the guy make pa thong. Street food and the culture/processes around it is truly enjoyable!

Thanks for sharing!

To me noodle soup is the perfect breakfast, full of protein, carbs and vegetables. It is filling but, because it is soup, it is not heavy.

My kind of breakfast, I'll go for the sweet ones.

I go for the sweet ones too once in a while! Thanks for the comment!

I like to eating with congee😊

Me too! so delicious! I love Thai food.

I love Thai food too.💕

You got a 4.35% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @chefsteve!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

I Love Thia food, it is very similar to Chinese but so much spicier, I have never had the opportunity to eat these doughnuts when I was bag backing many years ago in Thailand but if I get the chance to go across again someday I am going to keep my eye out for them. they look so nice.

thanks for sharing this with us :)

Thanks for reading my post. I hope you get back to Thailand one day!

Hi, @chefsteve I spend a lot of time reading through the food posts on steemit as it is an interest of mine.
I hope to get back to thailand but it will be when my kids have grown up and flown the nest.

Thanks for taking the time to reply back to me, if you want to talk about anything food related i would love a good chat.

speak soon @artonmysleeve

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51