khanom jeen nam ngiaw- Northern Thai fresh noodle soup with blood cakes, Dried flowers, pork ribs and fresh and pickled vegetables

in #food6 years ago

Every morning in Bangkok, on my way back from exercising in the park, I stop at a favorite street food vendor of mine to see what he is cooking. He cooks a different soup every morning so I am always curious what is in his pot each day. On this day, I was so excited to see that he had made Khanom Jeen Nam Ngiaw. This is a speciality from northern Thailand so it was a real treat to be able to have it for breakfast in Bangkok. The signature ingredient of this soup is the dried flowers of the red cotton tree. The soup also has blood cakes, pork ribs and fresh and pickled vegetables. To personalize the flavor of the soup he gave me fiery hot dried chilies, fried garlic and pickled chilies. So, when you mix up the condiments into the soup it has a rich, tangy and spicy flavor. The fresh noodles are soft and the raw vegetables add a great crunchy texture.


Here he is showing me how the soup has the dried flowers in it.


Here are the fresh and pickled vegetables


And here are the fresh noodles and the fried garlic


Here I am at home, post workout, enjoying my breakfast!



And here you can see the signature red cotton tree flower

If you find yourself in Bangkok and would like to sample a soup like this one, you can find my soup friend on Sukhumvit soi 24/1. This is an alley and not a real street. It is below the Phrom Phong BTS station and one street up from Soi 24 where Emporium is. In the morning, around 7am, when I am here, you will see a long line of people waiting for motorcycle taxis at this address.

Thanks for stopping by today to read my post. Please ask me any questions about this dish in the comments section. I look forward to hearing from you.
Chef Steve


CWU-chefsteve.gif

Sort:  

If I could recall, my mother call this a Chinese version of a typical noodle soup dish. I think it has to do with the ingredients that makes the broth red...I think. But it does looks very delicious and is one of my favorite South East Asia noodle dish.

Aloha @chefsteve!

Aloha @islandliving! The flower in the soup makes it red. I probably should of put that into the article! Thanks for stopping by today!

I love Kha Nom Jeen and Nam Ngiaw is one of the Kha Nom Jeen soups I really like! My stepmom is from Chiang Rai and she makes a really really good homemade Nam Ngiaw. Not too easy to ask her to cook ,though. Every time she cooks, she takes hours LOL

Chiang Rai is such a beautiful place. You should ask your stepmom to make it once per week! Keep her busy! haha, just kidding. I just saw your Chinatown video! so cool. You guys must have a big appetite to eat all that food!

Haha thank you so much. There're 4 of us and 2 of them were big American boys. :)

Yummy! Try this with a Imperial Stout. You won't regret it.

Anything with imperial stout is better!

This is my favorite dish also, my friend made that it was so yummy.

Thanks for stopping by today!

My pleasure, few day ago I saw your pictures with Maya one of Thaiteam. You guys cooked together, It've been very nice to know steemian was meet each other to do some activities.

Anyway, I am Natt, nice to see you here. thanks you.

Hey Natt! Me and Maya had a great time together. It was so fun to meet up in person.

Hi Chefsteve, @chefsteve , hopefully one day i will do something like that too.

Sam is not a big fan of blood cakes, but doesn't mind blood in the noodle soup to make it thicker.
Thanks for showing your breakfast spot. Also, running in Bangkok must be a nightmare! Do you run in that small-ish park where there's that 'Dining in the Sky' experience?
✈️👫

I run at Benjasiri park. I also like to use the outdoor weights gym within the park, where they make kettle bells out of paint cans!

Yes, we think it's that park that we are thinking of.
The outdoor machines save you money on paying for an actual gym even if you have paint cans as kettle bells. We know there's two outdoor gyms in Lumpini and we've seen the rusty equipment that they use, but hey, if it works then it's not broken.
✈️👫

It’s always nice to have a reliable go-to place for good food. I liken it to having a favorite restaurant or bakeshop.

The soup has so many flavorful and fresh ingredients that I’m sure it’s delicious and satisfying.

So curious about that tree cotton flower as I don’t believe I’ve had it before unless it was unknowingly in one of the dishes I’ve had in Thailand when I went there a few years ago. What taste or flavor does it impart on the soup? Does it provide some fragrance as well?

Thank you for sharing the location of your street food vendor. Will share with my son who is currently in Bangkok.

The flower has a very delicate flavor. It is mostly used to add color to the soup. Please do share with you son as this vendor is very clean and his food is so tasty! Another bonus is a bowl of noodle soup is roughly $0.38 Steem.

Will definitely share with my son. Since I'm not in Bangkok to enjoy it, I'll enjoy it through him. =D

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 03:24:34
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 113.23/200.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I greatly appreciate your kind words @chefsteve (●∩_∩●)

I remembering trying a soup that looks and sounds very much like this when I was there many years ago I do remember it was very tasty for sure

There are so many noodle soups there that I usually have a different one every day. I find them to range from mild and satisfying to fiery hot and challenging to eat, but still satisfying after I stop sweating! Thanks for checking out my post today.

I always s went for mild have never been into to hot and spicy

@mayasiam's Kanom Jeen is very delicious, you gotta try it next time you're here! It is spicy as hell though! ;D

Looking forward to that! Can't be too spicy for me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61