Arepas

in #food7 years ago

Crispy on the outside and soft inside, arepas are a delicious food made from corn. The base of the arepa is a corn cake made from pre-cooked cornmeal. The cake is much thicker than a corn tortilla and it's texture is firmer. Arepas are easy to split open and fill with your favorite vegetables, meats or cheeses.

Arepas originated in pre-Columbus South America, in the areas that are now the countries of Venezuela and Columbia. This food is eaten as a snack food or as a full meal and arepas are still popular to this day. I had my first arepa in a Venezuelan restaurant in NYC. It was love at first bite!

Arepas are a great vehicle for using up any leftovers in your home. I used leftover carnitas from my freezer today to make a delicious and very fast lunch. Along with the carnitas, I added chopped tomato, cilantro, pickled onions and habanero chili sauce to my arepas.


Ingredients and Method

  • 2 cups of arepa flour
  • 2.5 cups of water
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 Tablespoons oil

The recipe for the arepa came from Bon Appetit. It will seem way too wet when you first mix it but just let it rest for 15 minutes in the fridge and It will firm up and then you can work with it. Also, I made 16 arepas with this much mix because I like mine to be smaller. The arepas I made are around four bites each to finish.

  1. Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Add all the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and let it rest for 15 minutes.
  3. Heat a pan on medium-low heat
  4. Divide the dough into 16 portions and roll them in your hand to make a ball. Then flatten that ball into a disk. (they should be 1/3 inch to 1/2 inch thick)
  5. Cook the disk in the pan for 4 minutes with a lid on.
  6. Remove the lid and flip the cakes and cook uncovered for 4 minutes more.
  7. Let the arepas cool and then split them open and fill with your favorite fillings.

Here is the arepa flour.

Here are the balls of dough. You will flatten them in your hands before cooking. They are pretty moist, so they are hard to flatten on a surface and transfer without ruining their shape.

Here are the arepas when they are finished cooking. (sorry for the blurry image! but you get the idea of how they will look)

Here I am getting ready to fill the arepas. You can fill yours with what ever you want. Or if you prefer, you do not have to split them in half. You can simple just top them with your favorite toppings.

Here they are before I put the top layer of corncake on.

And here is the finished dish. As is the case with so many foods, adding a squeeze of lime will really make all the flavors in this sandwich pop.


Thanks for checking out my post today. I hope you have learned something new or I have inspired you to get into the kitchen. I'll see you in the comments section where we can talk about arepas and I will be happy to answer any questions you have.
Chef Steve

Sort:  

yummy

Yummy indeed! Thanks for your complement.

These look good. Will try to make a vegan version if I can find arepa flour here ;)

That would be great. Grilled vegetables, chilies, fresh herbs and pickles. Maybe some vegan cheese. Would be really tasty!

You are making my mouth water... hehe

Good one. Delicious. Here I am changing my cake for this delicious thing

OK, I will trade you for the cake!

Thanks for sharing! I have never tried making arepas but ate a lot on a recent trip to Colombia.

Looks so delicious!

It's super simple. With some leftovers around you can have the whole meal ready in 20 minutes.

That means I should try making it.

Just need that arepa flour. That is key. It is different than masa harina for tortillas.

Will look around here. Maybe I can find it.

We have a Venezuelan restaurant in a mall in our closest city. They speciality is arepas. They are almost addictive. I find that a smaller size would do me since they are so filling. Now perhaps I will attempt to make them myself.

you are right, they are so addicting! I like them smaller for the same reason. If you can get the arepa flour they are done in 20 minutes start to finish.

I can't love more this Kind of meal...arepa, taco, enchilada. All full of flavour, all delicious!!

I totally agree!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 21:10:37
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 20.30/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Yummy, this looks great! Going to try this out! Thankyou for sharing

Thank you for stopping by today. Let me know how your arepas turn out.

I have never heard of these they loved k quite interesting

If you like tacos then you will like arepas. The texture is different but the flavors are the same. Thanks for checking out the post.

Well I do like tacos so I will have to try them

Interesting recipe and detailed explanation. Good work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61224.26
ETH 2383.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55