What's for dinner? Chilli mussels quick and easy 👨‍🍳

in #food7 years ago

I was very lucky this week to pick up some awesome fresh mussels and off course my wife @krissi loves chilli mussels, what better way to warm up the evening in gloomy Perth!

IMG_3375.JPG

I still had some fermented chillies from my man @back2basics who is the master of fermented food. I cut up some onions and 1 red capsicum and fried it off altogether in one of my mums old brat pans. It's a beast!!

IMG_3364.JPG

IMG_3365.JPG

IMG_3366.JPG

After I fried off the onions and chilli I added a nice tablespoon full of tomato paste and mixed it through creating a pasty consistency. Then I splashed in a glass of some left over rose but you can use white wine. This process is called de glazing the pan and it soaks up all the fried juices.
Now add the tinned crushed tomato, a dash of mixed herbs and a tablespoon of sugar and allow this all to cook out for 15 mins.
IMG_3370.JPG

IMG_3371.JPG

Now add your mussels to the pot and give them a quick stir before putting the lid on. Turn heat to high and let them cook for 10 mins, shaking the pot in between so the sauce doesn't stick.
After10 mins turn heat off and let it all settle.

IMG_3373.JPG

Now serve with your favourite sides such as crusty bread, salad and a beautiful women 😜😜😜 @krissi

This is so simple and just takes a little bit of time to cook out the tomato sauce. But it's so delicious !!!

IMG_3376.JPG

IMG_3377.JPG

All gone 😜

IMG_3379.JPG

Enjoy

Chefm31ster

Sort:  

This looks yummy.

Your welcome.

It was delicious 😋

Another great looking meal there @ch00fy! I don't eat seafood myself but this is a very fresh and wholesome dish, and definitely deserving of attention and compliments! Also - you're very sweet to your wife... I hope she enjoys the mention :-)

Hey @woman-onthe-wing I would love to help out in future culinary comps by sponsoring or judging so let me when you have a free position :)

Thanks very much @ch00fy... Are you signed up to Steemit.chat? If you'd like to be guest judge for the SCC next week you can send me a direct message there with your choice of theme! I will also keep your offer of sponsorship in mind, thank you so much :-)

i just signed up, how do i find you? my username is ch00fy

Looks delicious!! Great photos !!

Yep my wifes favourite as well. Got last batch of chillies for the year still. Will have to get together and i will give you some more. Looks like you have run out.

Thanks for sharing. Even though it makes me hungry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64526.07
ETH 3116.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55