My German style mustard meatballs with Bavarian cabbage - Food fit for a German

in #food7 years ago

So this week i was lucky enough to be the judge for the STEEMIT culinary challenge hosted by @woman-onthe-wing and looking at all the delicious recipes the contestants served up it made me crave some of my own!
I texted my wife and said can you grab a bit of this and that and then when she got home from shopping with my mum we cracked on!

IMG_3550.JPG

So we started with some lean mince from the butcher, some shredded white cabbage and some roughly diced white onions.
All the ingredients will be list below

IMG_3568.JPG

IMG_3567.JPG

My beer squeezed itself into the photo

IMG_3566.JPG

So first i soaked 2 pieces of white bread in some water and then ringed it out. I needed this into the mince with 2 eggs, 1 tablespoon of raw white onions and a very generous amount of salt and cracked pepper. I kept the rest of the onion for the cabbage and mustard sauce.

IMG_3564.JPG

IMG_3563.JPG

Now in a good size pot i heat up some butter and oil with another tablespoon of white onion. This is going to become my sauce pot. Give the onions a nice browning then set aside.

IMG_3562.JPG

In a nice sized pan heat up again some oil and butter and now we will brown off the meat. Form large meat balls in your hands and place them into the pan.

IMG_3555.JPG

IMG_3554.JPG

The trick here is to give the meatballs a very nice browning so that all this lovely color and flavor then goes into your sauce.

IMG_3553.JPG

My trusty boxer watches on

IMG_3552.JPG

After the meat is nicely browned i add some water to my pot with the onions, i add 5 tablespoons of Dijon mustard and about 500mls of water. Now add the meatballs and simmer for 20 minutes.

IMG_3556.JPG

After cooking put 3/4 of a cup of flour into a bowl and mix in 1/3 a cup of water. Whisk together forming a pasty liquid and add to your pot with the meat balls to thicken the sauce.

IMG_3551.JPG

Set them aside to rest and to let the sauce infuse. Now to finish we will fry off the Bavarian cabbage. In a pan fry the remaining white onion and then add the cabbage. Let this cook down slowly and half way throw add 2 bay leaves, salt and pepper. Do not overcook its nice to have it still a little bit green. It smells amazing and fills your home with a beautiful aroma. So healthy too!

IMG_3561.JPG

IMG_3560.JPG

IMG_3558.JPG

Tonight i served this with some pre boiled and then butter fried potatoes! Enjoy

IMG_3549.JPG

IMG_3548.JPG

Ingredients:

1kg Lean beef mince
4 white onions peeled and diced
1/2 white cabbage
1 glass of Dijon mustard (not hot)
3/4 cup of flour
2 eggs
2 bay leaves
2 slices of white toast
salt and cracked pepper to taste
a good quality German beer to taste :)

chefm31ster

Sort:  

Really very mouthwatering recipe @ch00fy! I can feel that it was really very delicious!
Cheers
@progressivechef

@ch00fy
Today, I will ask my husband to cook this yummy))

I have a cabbage lying around in the fridge and it's calling me! I've just found a good idea what to cook with it. Thanks for sharing @ch00fy! It looks delicious :-)

Thank you 🙏

What a great recipe. Thank you for sharing it. Must make it soon. :)X

Thank you very much ❤️

Loved this recipe, in fact just promoted it on my last post. Why not enter Patelinchos Regional challenge with it? :)X

I haven't seen that one what's the link :)

https://steemit.com/whaleshares/@patelincho/cook-with-us-contest-for-whaleshares-last-week-s-winners-and-new-challenge
Closes tomorrow Doll so you will have to get your finger out and paste the link to your post in the comments section. Good luck! :)X

Shit thank you! Might be bit late for me I'm flat out at work over the weekend.

Shame cause I loved your dish! Next time maybe? :)X

Ha ha that's one hungry looking dog! Love it :-) This is a brilliant recipe @ch00fy, and you certainly look like you're enjoying it there in the last photo! This was a great theme and definitely inspired some delicious recipes from the SCC participants. I think taking inspiration from the cuisine of different cultures is really beneficial to our health, our pallets and also our attitudes! Thanks so much again for being guest judge and for giving everyone chance to have fun with their creations!

My pleasure anytime thank you for having me 🙏❤️👨‍🍳

Wow, OK so I am vegan but at one point in my life I wasn't and I know this recipe is mega delicious! I'm going to try to do something suitable to my diet using this because you've just got me all excited my friend! Thanks for sharing this! Looks like it was enjoyed ;)
XO

I'm so happy you like it thank you very much ❤️

I'll let you know if I am able to try it out ;)

This looks amazing and very flavourful! Thanks for the recipe @ch00fy!

Cheers tash

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99