Vegan Salad,Sausages, and Salsa

in #food6 years ago (edited)

bowl.jpg

fruity divider.png

We realized we weren't eating enough raw greens. I have been experimenting quite a bit on making things with lentils and beans. I haven't really stopped. But I realize I need to incorporate some more raw veggies and fruits into my diet. It's not always easy here in the hills of Acapulco. I can go down the hill to the supermarket but it is not always convenient.

I did go the other day, got some greens made a salad. But I wasn't going to forget about my legumes experiments, so I made a sausage. I wish I had had more spices to make it like chorizo. This is probably the most popular sausage here.

bowl1.jpg

So I made it out of navy beans and lentils. I always moisten the mixture with ground carrots, beets and sometimes potatoes or zucchini. This time I only used carrots and a small piece of beet for color.

Sausages


1 cup navy beans soaked overnight
1/cup lentils ground dry or lentil flour( chick pea flour would be great)
1 small ground carrot
1 sliver of ground beet ( about a teaspoon full for color if desired)
1 teaspoon ground flax
1teaspoon salt or to taste
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon paprika and/ or a pinch of cayenne

Reserve some ground lentils to help rolled this mixture into sausages. I used regular flour because I forgot to reserve some lentil flour.

Combine all ingredients in a food processor adding water if needed to make a workable dough like consistency. Shape into small cigars and put in a pan, to brown or deep fry. I would use an oven if I had one to bake for about fifteen minutes or so.

banner.jpg

Salsa


4 Roma tomatoes
1 clove garlic
salt to taste
juice of a lime
1/2 jalapeno pepper ( or what ever amount you like of spice. Perhaps none)
A few sprigs of cilantro minced
1/8 cup finely diced onion

I kept this raw but if you like a thicker salsa you could boil this down and/ or add a little cornstarch. About 1/4 teaspoon.

*A little tip for mixing cornstarch is to mix it with slightly warm water rather than cold. It will be smoother.

bowl2.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Nice post. Doesn't look like you are getting the votes you deserve though. You should check out steemengine.

Thanks I will!

Be sure to never give anyone your private key

Thanks I was thinking about that. Thanks for the warning!

It made my mouth water. Regards!

Good I'm glad it did! Thanks.

Hello Friend how are you, Those sausages call my attention, it has ingredients that I like a lot like beans like almost always now I love this sausage recipe

Ahh thanks my friend. Have a great day!

You Learn More From Failure Than From Success. Don't Let It Stop You. Failure Builds Character.

How are you friend? a very balanced meal and the colors are beautiful, I love the avocado I think I can eat avocado with everything

I love avocados too!!!!

aw really gorgeous one dear, must be really tasty, where have you been these days. didn't see posts from you

Oh hello my friend. I took a break for a couple of days haha!

I have to try that sausage recipe soon. Looks scrumptious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05