Lunch at 'Gabreku 1929' Restaurant in Samobor, Croatia - Steemer's Review

in #food7 years ago (edited)

A break from beer to some food! I wrote about a small city near Zagreb called Samobor. Where to eat there?

The name of the place is ‘Gabreku 1929.’ meaning At Gabrek’s 1929 - they rightfully boast with long history and tradition!


Before we sat down to eat we stopped at the best craft bar in town. There we got an advice where to grab a bite. Awesome Sunday all in all!

I always say you should never be too shy to ask random questions people around you! You get to learn stuff you didn’t even imagine!

We felt special because you can pass it by quite easily. Nothing spectacular from the outside but inside is a different story!

It is a huge place fit for any kind of occasion. Richly decorated and furnitured. I remember we didn’t think much of it because such places tend to be uptight and too posh for our taste. Oh, we were so wrong!

Waiters were invincibly polite! They knew what they were talking about and spared no extra toppings or whatever we were interested in! I don’t know how much they pay them, but it must be a lot!

Since I am a devout vegetarian we went with mushrooms. A variety were available and I can say it felt like it has just sprouted from warm dank humus ground!

Mushrooms are such underrated plants! If they are plants at all…

Growing my own mushrooms and having a microbrewery, definitely on my wish list!


Photo-shoot!


To stimulate the appetite we ordered a shot of wine mixed with spices! Girly but good. I resisted my beer craving this time because a lady sat across me.

Some soup! The best darn mushroom soup I ever had! Like grandma made it! One serving enough for two!

They even had some kind of mushroom dust called ‘trumpets’. Very pungent aroma! We sprayed and prayed! But it works! Delicious!

We were brought some bread made in their own recipe. Although we usually avoid bread this was very crisp and fresh. Smells like the real deal! We didn’t ask for it - we didn’t have to pay for it! Amazing!

Main dishes - green noodles with mushroom mix and scrambled eggs with asparagus!

On top we took some fresh cheese (proteins!) and salad (happiness!)

The cake you can see up there was a desert, but we were pretty stuffed by that time! Best meal I had in awhile.

They even brag with Tripadvisor medal!

All in all - 250 kuna (38$) - for two people. I’d say upper mid-range but well worth it on occasion!

Go and try it!


Camera: Canon SX170 IS

Food wizards: @richman @knozaki2015 @sweetsssj @gringalicious - you are an inspiration!You can find a lot more travel posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics. Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!

How to make letters so small? Ask me in chatroom! Let’s hang out!

I found a good contest! Maybe check it out! Rookie Challenge "Introduce your Hometown" + learn about Steemit (200 SBD Pricepool) by @pollux.one


Which mushroom variety is your favourite?

Sort:  

Looking really good place. I should visit it ,cheers

If you are in the neighborhood! Thanks for visiting here! :)

I voted for u
pls vote for me too :))

It is never cool to ask for votes directly but I don't mind

Was it as good as it looked? :)

Oh, yes, definitely! :D

ahh what a great place. Some day i wish i could visit it! It had that style of a stylish old fashioned restaurant ( i don't know if that makes sense :P but that's what i think of it). What i really like is something that mostly happens in balkan and it is the bread and water :P . In many cases it is free and in some cases like that one the bread is made by the restaurant, i really like that!

Thank you for really reading it! It is quite old fashioned!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by buzzbeergeek from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

@buzzbeergeek All dishes looks super tasty :) I've never heard about "trumpets" and I am wondering if you can play music on them :P
Please take a look at my post about street food in Warsaw. Maybe you will visit Poland next time :)
https://steemit.com/food/@radzioha/warsaw-by-night-1-night-market-the-street-food-gem

Poland is on my to do list! Thanks!

Looking forward for it. Following you from now :)

Great photos and the food looks tasty !

Thks! Great profile pic!

Thank you :)

A nice compliment, friend!

i am hungry now.."thank" you :/ :D

Ah... Thank you for visiting! Let's see what you have!


This Post is Manually Read, Curated and Upvoted✔
🆕💯🆙

ALBERTVHONS™ aims to give 300x upvotes to awesome post!💲💰
this post is chosen as great content📃📝📍
You may choose to reject this 🚮 and I will no longer Read, Curate And Upvote your future Post
this i reserved my rights🔛

Man you've got flair! :D

Your posting good content! I am watching you😎🔎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50