Steemit Iron Chef 2018 Act 01 Round 09 : Petit Pois al à Française with norwegian Cod, marinated tomatoes and sauce Hollandaise

in #food6 years ago

Hello wonderful SteemFoodies!
For my very first Steemit Iron Chef challenge I made one of my favorite ways to serve peas, the french way. Direct translation of the name of this dish is "baby green peas the french way".
Basically it is green peas with cured meat, some shredded salad leaves and mild onion brought together with a nice amount of butter. Its a really nice and light dish for the spring season. The recipe is quite open and easy to play around with. Hence the two varieties of peas and onion. Which brought some playfulness and variation to the dish.
Torsk med petit pois,  siden 45grad.jpg

For my version of this dish I used:

Frozen green peas
Fresh sugarsnap peas
2 spring onions
Half a shallot finely chopped
Some bacon
Small gem lettuce
Butter
Petit Pois råvarer closeup2.jpg

I started to cut the sugar snap peas and spring onions into bite sized pieces and finely chopped my shallot. I then proceeded to shred the gem lettuce in quite thin slices. When everything was chopped and ready I started to fry the bacon slightly and added my onions, peas and at the very last second I added the gem lettuce and some seasoning. The whole cooking process goes rather quickly as none of the ingredients need any excess cooking time. Petit Pois i panne.jpg
In addition to the Petit Pois I fried up a nice piece of Cod and served it together with small tomatoes marinated in olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper and a fluffy hollandaise sauce to go with. I made the hollandaise with browned butter instead of clarified. This is my favorite twist on this classic french sauce.
Torsk med petit pois, 15grad 1.jpg

Thank you for checking out my post. Hope you enjoyed it as much as I did making it! :)

If you want to join the action head over to @progressivechef the guy arranging this #steemit-ironchef contest.

Torsk med petit pois, signatur lapp.jpg

Sort:  

Delicious ... would love to dig in !

Hello my friend! First of all thanks a lot for the mention and entering Steemit Iron Chef! We are all so happy to have you among the contestants!
I've made a lot of petit pois a la Francaise during my times in the hotel industry but yours looks really another level!
Very well done! Making your Hollandaise with browned butter is a great idea, the taste is simply amazing!
Thanks again!
@progressivechef

Congratulations @butterfingers! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @butterfingers! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54843.49
ETH 2298.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31