Whole Roast Chicken with Stuffing - Recipe and Pictures

in #food7 years ago

Nothing like a mouth watering whole roast chicken right?

IMG_0041.jpg

While the old bird is finishing thawing out in a pot of water...

IMG_0024.jpg

(I started this process hours ago because mine was rock hard frozen)

I start the stuffing with my secret ingredient!

IMG_0001.jpg

Chicken Gizzards are of so yummy and only a little time intensive to clean.

IMG_0002.jpg

See that bit of white muscle? That must go!

IMG_0003.jpg

A sharp knife is a must for this step.

IMG_0006.jpg

And before you know it you've cleaned the whole package.

IMG_0007.jpg

Chop it up into smaller pieces. These little buggers can be quite tough so keep that knife nice and sharp.

IMG_0008.jpg

Heat up a pot with about 1 TBSP of oil, and if your heart won't mind, feel free to substitute butter.

IMG_0009.jpg

Add the gizzards. Salt with sea salt and add a bit of black pepper after each of the additions to the pot. This will help layer that flavor.

IMG_0010.jpg

Prepare the Garlic -Kitchen HACK~ Remember to use the flat side of the knife to get that pesky skin off.

IMG_0012.jpg

IMG_0013.jpg

Finely chop.

IMG_0014.jpg

Chop some celery.

IMG_0015.jpg

Mushrooms.

IMG_0016.jpg

Onions I add last, they cook really fast!

IMG_0017.jpg

~Kitchen HACK~ Cut the top off.

IMG_0018.jpg

Slice in half.

IMG_0019.jpg

Slice horizontally towards the root.

IMG_0020.jpg

Vertically towards the root.

IMG_0021.jpg

Across the bias and viola! You have chopped onion.

IMG_0022.jpg

Add everything in with the Gizzards.

IMG_0023.jpg

Back to our good old friend the thawed out chicken.

IMG_0024.jpg

Remove the good stuff our friends hide in bags on the inside (Livers). Chop and add to the dressing.

Feed a little to the cat if you have one. They love livers.

IMG_0025.jpg

IMG_0027.jpg

Dry out the bird. This will help you get a wonderful crispy skin!

IMG_0031.jpg

Check the stuffing. Once it has started to glisten and the onions turn translucent you'll know it is time to cool it down in the refrigerator.

IMG_0032.jpg

Once it has cooled (about 30 minutes) add an egg.

IMG_0033.jpg

A couple handfuls of Breadcrumbs.

IMG_0034.jpg

And mix until you have a ratio which allows the stuffing to hold a shape.

IMG_0035.jpg

Stuff under the skin with a spoon.

IMG_0036.jpg

Stuff the cavity.

IMG_0039.jpg

And pop that bird in the oven at 425 for about 20 minutes. Add in five minute intervals to get the skin to the right shade of brown. I like to dust with Adobo for a nice salty crunch.

IMG_0040.jpg

Once you have your desired skin color reduce heat to 325 and cook for an additional hour.

IMG_0041.jpg

I have a ridiculous knife to split my bird in half. Bon Appetit.

IMG_0042.jpg

Remember to Follow for more fun recipes and food pictures.

I'll also be posting about all sorts of other wonderful things- like my stories from shooting in Romania with penthouse pets... those were the days.

Sort:  

I like to brine my chicken first. Ensures the outside gets nice and crispy and the breast stays nice and juicy. Looks delicious. I do like the idea of the adobo. Adds another layer of flavor.

for sure! The only brining I usually do is the pickling variety but now I am inspired and may have to experiment. @blancobasura do you use any apple cider vinegar in your brine or just straight salt and water?

No. I don't use any vinegar. I use salt water, along with any other spices I want to impart into chicken. Some garlic, and a few other things. Depends really on your taste.

@blancobasura such is all cooking :-) That's why I love it!!

Hello @blancobasura if you liked this post please check out my first food blog post. It would be greatly appreciated, thank you :)

░░░░░░░░▌▒█░░░░░░░░░░░▄▀▒▌
░░░░░░░░▌▒▒█░░░░░░░░▄▀▒▒▒▐
░░░░░░░▐▄▀▒▒▀▀▀▀▄▄▄▀▒▒▒▒▒▐
░░░░░▄▄▀▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒█▒▒▄█▒▐
░░░▄▀▒▒▒░░░▒▒▒░░░▒▒▒▀██▀▒▌
░░▐▒▒▒▄▄▒▒▒▒░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▀▄▒▒
░░▌░░▌█▀▒▒▒▒▒▄▀█▄▒▒▒▒▒▒▒█▒
░▐░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▌██▀▒▒░░░▒▒▒▀ ▌
░▌░▒▄██▄▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░░▒▒▒ ▌
▀▒▀▐▄█▄█▌▄░▀▒▒░░░░░░░░░░▒▒ ▐
▐▒▒▐▀▐▀▒░▄▄▒▄▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒░▒▒ ▒▌
▐▒▒▒▀▀▄▄▒▒▒▄▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒░▒ ▐
░▌▒▒▒▒▒▒▀▀▀▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒░▒░▒▒ ▌
░▐▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒░▒▒▄▒▒
░░▀▄▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒░▒▄▒▒▒▒
░░░░▀▄▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▄▄▄▀▒▒▒▒▄▀
░░░░░░▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▒▒▒▒▒▄▄▀
░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒

doggo is getting hungry :3

lol @datboithe1 so was I! and then I ate it :-)

Done ! Res teemed back ! Thanks again , got to go my pasta dinner is ready!!😋👍

That was yesterday for me @karenmckersie! Shrimp with a basil cream sauce. Wish I had figured this out then and posted that one :-)

Mmmm! that sounds delicous !! 😋😋😋

Congratulations @bruckdashel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Following you and yummmmm.

Thank you so much @christa! I'll be posting food and also all sorts of other things :-)

Great post ! Lots of step by step photos ! Mm mm! 😋😋😋 Looks delicious , next time let me see a plate of it dished up and all ready for me to eat ! hahahaha ! 😂😂 thanks for sharing and up voting my post !! Following you now !!

Hi from Australia and boosting my retirement too ha ha, following you.

Awesome ! Thanks , followed back ! Im planning on retiring early !! Yippee ! 👍👍👍

your welcome !👍👍👍

cheers! I will plate next time :-) I kind of need bigger plates. That was a big bird. @karenmckersie

looks delicious. Chicken would be nice for lunch :)

Yes it will @businesswri and I plan on turning it into a chicken salad sandwhich :-)

Great food post. Maybe on the next one, just make the pics a bit bigger. Steem ON!

Thanks for the advice @gringalicious ! The biggest struggle was attempting to shoot and cook at the same time :-) I'm trying to do it with my iPhone for now. I think my next post will be some photography I've done of one of my muses.

I understand the struggle and that is one of the reasons I seldom do progress shots. But, steemians really do like progress shots, so keep it up if you can

Sure looked like it turned out well.

yes it did! My cats even dug in for a few bites lol.

Congratulations @bruckdashel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56477.82
ETH 2390.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33