Italian culinary delights - The secret of the best homemade pizza ever...Revealed!!!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Berlin. 30. 01. 2089.

One day, three young flatmates kept searching the secret of the real Italian homemade pizza for hours and hours: tens of articles, dozens of videos..."Shit, why is everything in Chinese now!"

So, they have a look on the dark web, then the grey, the pink, the purple. Until...

sugo.jpg

The Secret

An old piece of paper, it stinks of time: "Actually it's kinda smelly, take it away, please!" And so it was.

But thanks to their bionic eyes, they manage to get every single detail and add it to their hard-brains.

Here's the ancient secret of "'A Pizza fatta in casa" and yes, we all agree on that: it's time for the damn ingredients.

ingredienti-1.jpg

This is all we need for four homemade pizzas.

  • Dough: flour (800 g) water (500/700ml), salt, fresh yeast (1 cube), olive oil
  • Sauce: fresh tomatoes (1 kg), basil, olive oil, salt
  • Ingredients: 4/6 mozzarella, mushrooms, rocket salad, parmesan, cherry tomatoes, whateveryouwanttoaddjustpleasedontexaggerate😉

Dough in 5 steps

1


lievito.jpg

Pot, we need one. Plastic, ceramic, fake ceramic...The larger the better, not for whom has to clean it, of course. Does 800g of flour fit in that? Then, double at least the volume so that you can add some water afterward.

We first mix up together flour and yeast, by gently melting small pieces of yeast with a little flour as well. No water needed at this stage.

2


sale.jpg

A teaspoon of salt with at least 500ml of water. Salt must be dissolved separately into the water and not directly melted with fresh yeast: its effectiveness would be destroyed.

3


olio.jpg

Olive oil, just a couple of spoons. The more, the crunchier, but pay attention not to turn your pizza into a french fry. Now mix everything up with a wooden spoon, spread a bit of flour on a large table and sing Tarantella.

Then, pour that soggy pigswill you just created, place your hands in and start working on it.

Forever.

4


impasto.jpg

Ok, maybe just 15 to 20 minutes may be ok. Keep adding water/flour depending on dough's consistency. I cannot show you exactly the perfect dosage, but you should reach a point when it doesn't really stick anymore to your hands, though it keeps being a bit wet and starts becoming very soft.

When this happens, take the Japanese holy sword of Sakamurataka, divide it into 4 parts (*) and give each a round shape.

(*)A simple knife might do its dirty job as well.

5


panetti-2.jpg

The result must be something like this. Hopefully, better, more likely not. 😉

panetti-3.jpg

After 2 to 3 hours they should have grown in size as in the picture above, so there's enough time to jump directly into the next phase.

Sauce in 3 steps

We need to obtain peeled tomatoes and yes, they are largely sold in supermarkets: cheap, ready, juicy.

But, nothing compared to the goodness of real German (?) super-round-shaped-fresh-tomatoes. They taste better than the can ones anyway, that's a fact.

1


pomodori-a-bollire.jpg

So, just take a pot and boil them until the skin starts getting off, then peel'em. Meanwhile, you can kill time and cut all remaining ingredients...

2


pelati.jpg

That's what we need to obtain. Now let's mash them with a fork - you can use a mixer too, I just wanted to keep it authentic -, add some olive oil, salt, fresh basil...

3


ingredienticiotole.jpg

Et voilà!

The hidden Art of Pizza

It's time to turn the oven on 250° (Celsius, which is around 500° F) or more if it reaches, possibly in a ventilated mode.

Take the damn trays out! Yes, they're hot now. 😉

stesura-pasta.jpg

We better focus on our dough balls: take one and start putting pressure on with the top of your fingers, moving from the center to the edge. Give it the shape you prefer - as long as it fits on your tray - and of course, you can also use a rolling pin, but pay attention not to flatten edges.

sugo.jpg

  • Pour a spoon of tomato sauce on top and spread it on the pizza, leaving a 1/2 centimeters margin from the edge.
  • Now, bake it for less than ten minutes, add 1 and a half or 2 mozzarella and wait five to ten more minutes.
  • Mushrooms should be add in the first bake, together with tomatoes sauce, while rocket salad, parmesan, and cherry tomatoes taste better when they're raw.

pizza-slice.jpg

So...It's time to check out the result. Here's how your pizza should look like from the side: the edges are soft and crunchy while the rest is thinner.

pizza-funghi.jpg

Here's one with just mushrooms...

rucola-pomodorini-grana.jpg

And here's my favorite, with cherry tomatoes, rocket salad and parmesan cheese on top.


This article is also available in ITALIAN

If you liked it don't hesitate to resteem and share it with your friends!

@bronsedi

Sort:  

Your pizza looks amazing. Resteemed :-)

Danke! In case we don't know what to do at the next meetup... =)

Awesome photos! Thanks for sharing this great guide. We need some pizza skills like this in Estonia 😉! You should try out Swedish kebabpizza. The swedes are a bit special they like to add tons of toppings! The more toppings the better! 😄

Ahahahah, I was living with a Swedish flatmate last year and he told me about =) Yeah, basically it's a dish served on some weird-shaped dough =)

I have to try this! Check my cooking posts as well please!

Hey man, how is it going? Tomorrow I'll be in Sicily for a tourney, then Berlin again and Rozvadov. Win another ticket and let's have a beer there!

I will try! Sunday I am going to play the Sunday Million Special on PokerStars... and with February my bookings as a DJ going up again!

Looks great. I love making pizza. I cook mine directly on a pizza stone in the oven.
IMG_20150703_180240.jpg

Eheheh, actually I bought it and I tried it out last time...To use the stone properly you should do a different kind of dough, with a bit more water inside since the temperature should be higher on the bottom and all the water tends to evaporate faster.

The dough is a bit of a fine art. I have a granite stone that works pretty good but a few months ago I bought a metal one (not really a stone I guess). It does not hold the heat as long but it transfers it quicker to the pizza. So the net result is (in my opinion) a better crust than with the stone.

I bought this one...It works good but NEVER NEVER NEVER wash it with soap. It will be all absorbed and released as soon as the heat rises... https://www.amazon.it/dp/B01GEXX36O/ref=asc_df_B01GEXX36O49771353/?tag=googshopit-21&creative=23394&creativeASIN=B01GEXX36O&linkCode=df0&hvdev=c&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=

I see. It's quite expensive too (mine was half) and it's steel as far as I can read from the link. Well, I personally don't know its properties (I actually just watched a tutorial of an Italian pizza maker who was explaining how to use the firestone and how to make the dough, and he was using sth similar to mine. Anyways, just to make it short: using the firestone it's a plus when you do a certain kind of dough, otherwise, it can make everything worse. Next time I'll use it and I make an article I'll mention u =)

Cool. I should do the same. Do a demo of the steel "stone" vs the other one I have.

Ahahah, nice =) The "steel stone", more than a rock =)

Mmmhhhh amazing article. Works better than any advertisement and is much less annoying.
Looks like a pizza day for me. Cheers for that permission slip ahahah. <3

<3 Yeah, I tried to avoid writing it in a standard way, first of all because I'm not a professional cooker, and in general 'cause I don't take life too seriously =)

This looks sooo good. I suck at making pizza. Next time I'm gonna try using this as a reference point,

Thanks!

Tell me how it goes then! ;)

Thanks for sharing!

My pleasure!

fuck, now i'm hungry...

I'm hungry as well and I'm just answering to comments =)

hehe, glad that i found my way to the next burger store on the opposite side of the spree

Ahahah! Well, If you don't know yet close by there (depending which part of Spree) in Maybachufer 21 I've found the best Italian pizzeria, called "Ammazzachepizza". Check it out!

like 20+ mins. i will check it out soon. thanks :)

Thank you very much for this contribution, I was also crazy looking for the recipe for "Pizza" and finally here.

Eheheh, I'm here to spread the ancient knowledge man!

Sounds delicious! I've spent considerable time in Italy. Your post brought some nice memories.

Thanks, I'm glad for it =) Now it's your turn to try it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59364.81
ETH 2658.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49