Smoked Ribs

in #food6 years ago

I finally pulled out my electric smoker this last weekend and was able to find enough time to smoke two racks of pork ribs. I wanted to share the result and also provide the recipe/method I used this time.

I have limited experience using my electric smoker, as I tend to use my BBQ grill more often. This is the 3rd run of ribs I have done on the smoker, and they turned out the best by far. I ended up getting some tips from a friend who used to manage an award-winning BBQ restaurant, so the successful run is really to his credit.

I first purchased two racks of pork spare ribs, cut St. Louis style, from my local grocery store. They were about 3 pounds each, and I ended up needing to portion them off slightly in order to get them to fit in the vertical smoker as they were quite large. I used Famous Daves Rib Rub, which I had not used before, but now recommend. Here is how they came out:

0D11F472-66A4-4767-80B7-2651DD5B2427.jpeg

My friend’s method for the perfect pork spare ribs is as follows: Smoke with Hickory wood, meat side up, for 2 hours at 275 degrees. Pull out the meat and put a handful of brown sugar on the rack, then cover in foil with the meat side down. Put the covered ribs (meat side down) back in the smoker for another 2 hours at 275 degrees. Pull the ribs out, and you are ready to feast on some of the greatest ribs you will ever eat!

Here are some progress pictures:

56AEAFDD-0ED5-4F41-A788-F10D66E04C4C.jpeg

E3255988-633B-434C-8E1F-3FD741189835.jpeg

7C321BBA-8A4E-4549-90B4-6E22DC49456D.jpeg

3408F6F8-5B25-4539-BFDF-93CA9DA068B4.gif

These ribs came out great – not too mushy where it falls off the bone without trying, but also perfectly tender with a slight bark from the caramelization of the rub, brown sugar and smoke. They were a sweeter version of ribs, and next time I may add some heat to them, but for this run I kept them sweeter as my wife and kids aren’t fans of spicy things. We did not even need any BBQ sauce, as the flavor was fantastic without anything else added.

This method was surprisingly easy and simple, yet the best ribs I have ever had. I will be replicating this same method going forward!

Do you have a rib recipe or method you like to use? Would love to hear it!

Appreciate you reading this post,

Brian

Sort:  

Looks like you crushed it on this one @brian.rrr! I've been looking into the electric smokers and you just got me a little more interested.

We smoked some goat ribs (from goats we raised) with some cherry wood rubbed down with salt. No need for fancy seasoning cause when that sweet cherry wood infuses that fatty rack it creates something magic. We do have some hot sauce on the side if we're feeling spicy though.

Wow, that sounds good and is very impressive that you did it all yourself! Thanks for sharing!

wow,my dear friend @brian.rrr really very delicious food.i am first time to seen this types food.this ribs looks very fantastic.but i am not knowing to cook this food.hopefully this food smell and taste very excellent..obviously ur family enjoy this weekened with yammy food. ...... The pork rib is delicious and the electric smoker spectacular.i want this rid doing to cook my house for my family.you not give this food recipi.i hope that you giving this dish recipi your next post..thanks to sharing for your awesome food post.very well done.take care yiurself and best of luck of your great work.may god bless you and your family.enjoy your weekened with slots of happiness..my dear friend.. @brian.rrr

The pork rib looks very delicious. First time i know about it. Hope you enjoy it and your family also like this yummy food. Have nice day sir @brian.rrr. Thanks for sharing the amazing food.

Well, sorry i don't have any method but i'm pretty impressed by your friend's method and will try it one day for sure.
YOu know what My mouth is watering now after watching it :/
can i have some?

I'd say I'm an amateur when it comes to BBQ cooking. I wanna push myself to learn what I can on the grill this summer. I only have a Weber Kettle grill, but I know what it's capable of.
I plan on smoking meats, grilling meats and learning an absurd amount of grilling techniques this summer.

Sounds great, and good luck! YouTube has been helpful to me... so many great videos of different smoking and grilling styles when you want to switch it up!

Great, and after watching these pictures we can say that you really enjoyed this stuff for sure and good to know that you made it with sweet essence. I really love super spicy and we are used to spicy stuff most of the time.

And thanks for sharing "How To" process and hopefully we can expect more foodie posts going forward.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Hello Friend how are you? excellent ribs look very tasty your family was very blessed thank you for sharing the way to roast them with us it seems what we call in venezuela breaded is the layer that is seen over the ribs
Greetings and blessings for your family

I have not yet tasted the meat of an electric smoker, so I do not have tips to prepare them. I am more traditional and I prepare my meats on a traditional grill.

I'm a North Carolina country boy and I cook my ribs in a charcoal grill, but I only use hickory wood. I will post my method very soon.

Sounds good my friend. Make sure you stop in and send me the link if I don’t see it within a day. Look forward to that post...

Your friend knows of a very good recipe had not tried a rib with brown sugar I also see that this piece of big rib looks like it is first meat maybe that helped a lot to get the bone out of it easily

I have cravings and I want to try one of these @brian.rrr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58