Paprika Parsnip Fries

in #food7 years ago

Parsnips are delicious vegetables, containing starch (for energy), fibre (helps in digestion), vitamins C and E (powerful antioxidants) also folate (which help the cells in our bodies)
There were a huge load of parsnips when I got home and it seemed they were going out of date soon so I wanted to make use of most or all of them that day. I found I could make parsnip fries which was something I never tried before so I went for it. It was my first time trying this recipie out and I've fallen in love with it! I added a little kick to it as well by adding in some paprika💥🔥! It's a quick and easy sack to try so here are the ingredients:

Parsnips (I had about 8 of them)
Salt (1 teaspoon)
Black Pepper (1 teaspoon)
Paprika (1 teaspoon)
Oil (2 tablespoons)
If you're not a fan of paprika you can go ahead and change it for something else or add anything extra like oregano, thyme or cumin. It's your snack so alter it how you will!

  1. Preheat your oven to around 170°C

  2. Peel the skin of the parsnips off. This stage is optional, you can choose to have it with the skin (I usually just peel a few off the sides that aren't looking too good).

  3. Chop up your parsnips into bite-size rectangular pieces (as best as you can).

  4. Wash your chunks and move them into a boil.

  5. To the bowl add your oil, salt, black pepper and paprika (be generous with the paprika) and then mix it all up.

  6. Once mixed, pour the parsnips evenly onto a baking tray and put them in the oven. Let them cook for about 10 -15 minutes or until they have all turned a golden brown colour.

These guys tastes so great, they had a crisp outside but fluffy inside which I love! I don't usually eat parsnips, if it was in the house or on my plate I would eat it but I never would go out of my way to buy some. But after I tried these parsnip fries out, I'm sure I'm going to be seeing a lot more of them around! Please give it a try!

IMG_20180103_202315.jpgIMG_20180103_202156.jpg

Sort:  

I do this at home too and they are great. Thanks for sharing.

Ah no problem thanks for reading and commenting! Have you tried with sweet potatoes as well? One of my firm favourtes!🥔🍠

You're welcome. Yes, I am all about vegetables. Very few that I do not love.

Congratulations @bozunutrition! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63683.34
ETH 2754.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64